We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcome stay with puppy bonus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“warm and welcome stay with puppy bonus”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in this wonderful b&b for three nights and felt very welcome. we had the garden room which has a huge bathroom right next to it. the house if tastefully decorated, pam and denins are excellent hosts. yummy hot breakfast cooked every morning. there is no internet reception in the garden room, but you can use the comfy lounge to get that facebook fix. and then there is maddie, the adorable 6 month old retriever pup who will brighten your stay at the lilac rose. thank you so much for making us feel at home, pam and dennis.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
207
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathalbyn, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just got back from 12 wonderful days in NZ's South Island and have to say that Lilac Rose B&B was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Garden Room with private bathroom and I have to say that it was perfect in every way. Pam & Denis are delightful, friendly, considerate and knowledgeable hosts who make you feel that you are welcome friends. Of course their dog Maddie was a great attraction too! Denis's breakfasts were superb, and Pam, I don't know how you keep up the pace and yet manage to look so relaxed. We had 3 nights altogether at this B&B and connot praie it enough. Very highly recommended...and as we said when we left..."We'll be back!" Try and stop us.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters which room you choose, they are all excellent. The Garden Room had pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed with Dennis and Pam in November when we started our trip to South Island, New Zealand. They could not have been more welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a beautiful bedroom with a luxurious private bathroom and they provided great breakfasts for us. We were there during the period the All Blacks were touring the UK and so Dennis and my husband were up at 5.30am to watch one of the matches.Breakfast was served on time despite our host's early start! Dennis took us to the motor home depot to pick up our van. I left my camera in his car and so he returned 30 minutes later to give it back to me. There's service for you. Their puppy is adorable and the garden, when we were there was a mass of roses. It's a great B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillcove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

When I first arrived at The Lilac Rose, the first thing that struck me was just how beautiful the place was! Everything was just so pretty and well-maintained, from the flowers at the gate to the garden to the front porch. I couldn't wait to spend my 2 nights here in the Garden Room!

Pam and Denis were there to greet us when we walked in. The interior of the B&B, such as the walls and corridors, were also exquisitely decorated. There was so much attention paid to detail! Pam showed us to our room, which was extremely clean and well-furnished as well. The bed was really plush-looking and very inviting and comfortable. We were also shown our bathroom, which was really luxurious, spacious and well-equipped with "his and her" sinks, heated towel racks, amazing shower, and space heaters. The decor and ambience of the entire place just really rivaled even the best 5-star hotels we'd ever stayed at!

Our room had double doors that led to a patio and the garden. This was convenient for smokers like my husband. There was also the spa bath outside, which we didn't have time to use, but looked really nice and was quite popular with the other guests. The room itself was not very spacious, but spacious enough for two, and very clean and comfortable. I loved the walk-in shower in the bathroom which had Linden Leaves products for guests to use. In fact, I fell completely in love with the products and went to get some for myself.

One of the highlights of our stay here was the cooked breakfast that Pam and Denis prepared for us in the kitchen every morning. My husband and I both had the English breakfast with scrambled eggs, toast, and mushrooms. They were delicious! It was delightful being able to have breakfast in their fantastic kitchen which, like the rest of the B&B, was also well-decorated and had such a homely feel. This was also where we spent most of our time chatting with the other B&B guests, sharing experiences and thoughts about New Zealand and other places. There was also no set time for breakfast, which was great because it meant we could wake up and get ready at our own time with no hurry.

The location of the B&B was good. Although we drove everywhere, we were fully aware that it was walking distance to some eateries and shops nearby. It was located in a quiet neighbourhood, so you know you'll get some peace and rest here.

However, there were a few things about the B&B which made me give a 4-star instead of a 5-star rating. Firstly, my husband and I are both not comfortable with dogs and when I had made the booking months ago, they had informed me that the (previous) dog had passed away so I need not worry about that. However, when we arrived, they informed us that there is now a new dog in the B&B. Because of this, we didn't feel totally at ease during our stay and had to keep making adjustments so that we don't come into contact with the dog. Also, I had a pair of slippers placed on our room floor right beside the door. After coming back from a day of sightseeing, I realised that one of the slippers was missing. We had closed the room doors and windows before going out that day, so we suspected that the dog may have come into the room during housekeeping and taken the slipper then. True enough, I found the missing slipper at the dog's cage in the guest lounge.

Secondly, the bathroom, although for our exclusive and private use, was not directly connected to the room - it was located just outside our room door, along the common corridor. This meant we had to go through two doors to get to the bathroom. Also, it meant less privacy for us, but the owners had foreseen this and prepared some bath robes for our use. This is great hospitality, but I would have preferred an ensuite bathroom to be able to move between the bedroom and bathroom more easily and freely.

Also, although it was lovely to have the rose garden right outside our room, it meant less privacy for us as well as other guests would be walking right outside the room to get to the spa bath. We found that we had to keep closing the curtains whenever we wanted to change in and out of clothes.

Thirdly, we were driving a rental car around NZ and had to park along the main street outside the B&B as there was no place to park within the B&B's premises. On our last day, right after checking out, we were shocked to find that some vandals had smashed our right side mirror during the night and thrown the glass shards onto the road some distance away. It was clearly a deliberate act, due to the way the side mirror had been broken. This really dampened our spirits and was a nasty way to end our stay in NZ. I also had to pay a hefty amount to the rental car company because of this, despite having insurance.

Despite the above, The Lilac Rose really is a great place to stay. I badly want to give it a 5-star rating but can't because of the problems mentioned above. The place really has a personality and charm of its own. It really felt like being in someone's home, instead of a hotel.

Room Tip: For guests who want an ensuite bathroom, book the Mulberry Room. For guests who are bringing in heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunmetiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We only had a night at the Lilac Rose, it was decorated to perfection and the house itself was very well maintained. It lives up to its 'boutique' description. Wonderful beds, a warm welcome and a freshly made coffee in the morning was just what we needed. The extra touch was the most wonderful golden retriever puppy - so adorable. Freshly baked cookies and muffins on arrival was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBell071283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved NZ and we stayed 3 nights in this excellent B&B. I felt as if Pam and Denis were good friends, and they were helpful in every way possible from recommending restaurants to directions. We looked forward to breakfast which consisted of amazing eggs, bacon, juice, great coffee, hash browns and the best tomato sauce which my daughter still raves about. The gardens were so beautiful and the flowers, hedges and garden design look like something out of a glossy magazine. The rooms were so beautiful and every detail from the shampoo and conditioner to pillows were perfect Their pets Maddy and Minx were gorgeous and friendly and the teens we travelled with also adored everything about the B&B. I wish I could give this B&B a higher rating than the highest it has because Pam and Denis have really raised the bar on this Gem! I'd recommend this B&B to everyone...and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitts31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Lilac Rose's Attic Room! The room was super clean and very well decorated with what looked to be brand new furniture, and the breakfast is without a doubt the best breakfast we have ever had at a B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reipurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
633 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 132 in Christchurch
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 132 in Christchurch
372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 132 in Christchurch
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing