We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Gorgeous.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Beautiful warm villa, lovely room, most welcome glass of wine, very friendly hosts and sumptious breakfast. I am looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank Jarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

The house and garden are absolutely beautiful in a vintage way! Very charming furnishings to a house that is more than a century old. Hosts Pamela and Denis were friendly and warm, together with their adorable Abbey and inquisitive Puss! Breakfast is glorious with many delicious options. Also did not stinge on the amenities - toiletries like bubble bath and massage oils provided were from Linden Leaves - which gave a very luxurious bath!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetng83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast really is as beautiful as it looks on the website, and is finished inside and out to a very high standard.

Pam and Denis are the perfect hosts with excellent cooking and brilliant advice for exploring the area.

Lilac Rose goes above and beyond a Bed and Breakfast! I highly recommend it as a great place to stay to explore Christchurch and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

After a long search for an open B & B in Christchurch we (four of us) were welcomed at the last minute with great accomodations! Pam & Denis are wonderful hosts. We had a great time, great food and great hospitality. And no one can resist sweet Abbie, the Golden Receptionist. I wanted to take her home! We will definately be back on our next visit.

Room Tip: Any room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed at Lilac Rose to 2 nights and the Garden Room we got is one of the prettiest room we've stayed in. There's even a vase of fresh roses in our room. Definitely a nice touch!

Pros:
* Although not very spacious, the Garden Room is very comfortable
* Fantastic cooked breakfast! Had the egg benedict on smoked salmon two days in a row.
* Wonderful host. Both Pam & Dennis are super friendly and they even helped us made dinner reservation at one of the great restaurant near by.
* Complementary internet access (wi-fi available)

Cons:
* Garden room does not come with en-suite toilet. However, we didnt have to share the toilet with anyone, so it's not a real problem to us.

Overall, it's a really great B&B. Wud definitely dropby during our nxt visit in Christchurch

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugong78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed for a wonderful 2 nights at the start of our 3 week trip to NZ. Lilac Rose is a beautiful B&B - our hosts Pam and Denis made us feel very at home and were a great source of information on the surrounding area and further afield (useful as our trip was ad hoc in terms of planning!). Breakfasts were great, the endless supply of tea/coffee was very welcome, and our room was very peaceful with a very comfortable bed. I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking to stay on the outskirts of Christchurch city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina_Gatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room our last night in New Zealand. Our room was lovely and clean. We had our own private bathroom next to our room that was spacious and clean. Our hosts were friendly and attentive. We were able to use the hot tub and enjoy the grounds. I would recommend this b&b to anyone who is looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay. We were sad we only stayed one night. Our breakfast was delicious and enjoyed at our leisure.
The hosts have a friendly dog that was quiet and we enjoyed his company. Lilac Rose is within walking distance to grocery stores, and is in a nice location all around. Denis was helpful with everything we needed, and very friendly.(his wife was out of town the time we stayed) We would love to stay here again if we were in New Zealand again. We had a wonderful experience had very gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelrodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#2 of 135 in Christchurch
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 135 in Christchurch
278 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#11 of 135 in Christchurch
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#1 of 135 in Christchurch
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $110 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing