We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farewell NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shamrock Garden B & B
Ranked #30 of 138 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose this mainly because it was close to the airport. Our stay was really too short to appreciate this accommodation fully.

The B&B is a large modern house set in its own grounds. Our "room" had a large bedroom, a lounge and an en-suite with spa bath. Chinese/Japanese themed.

Breakfast was a pleasant continental offering.

Free wi-fi worked.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Gracious hosts made us welcome and we enjoyed the extra space in our room with a separate sitting room and kitchenette. The B&B stands in its own grounds off the road, and is not far from the airport which suited us perfectly. The room was very quiet and we slept well, and enjoyed the continental breakfast and chatting to other couples staying there. You do need a car if staying here, as there is not much within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This rather large home is set in very beautiful gardens.It is close to the airport yet quite.It is an easy 25 minute bus ride into the city.Our flight did not arrive until midnight but we were met at the airport by the managers husband but there is a charge of $20 for late pick up.Our room was a good size and open up onto the beautiful garden.The breakfast was continental and feel it could be improved by offering a spread other than jam and real orange juice should be served.The B&B is run by a young Chinese couple,their uncle built the house 20 years ago for his family and then decided to turn it into a B&B.The couple are extremely nice and helpful.Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherpa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

So we have been traveling through NZ for 3 weeks staying in B+Bs. We are a good judge of good and bad.
This place....no heating....only takes cash (doesn't say on their web page...little suspicious).
Bed table light not working....because there was nothing to plug it into!
Sauna not working due to the earthquake...(either fix it or take it off the web site).... Oh and to add insult to injury....they wanted to charge me $20 for a bath!!!!!!!!!!!!
Very disappointed overall

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in New Zealand as we had a 4am flight.

The accomodation was very grand and top class, and very cheap considering the standard. We stayed in the Pondside room, with its 3 walls of glass, one of which opens completely onto a private terrace open to the huge garden. We also had a huge wetroom bathroom with a massive jucuzzi bath. There was also an attatched private sauna!

The rooms and surroundings are impecably kept and the owner, Eric, was an amazing host. He had arranged for a friend of his to take us to the airport at 4am (airport transfer is usually free and done by Eric himself, but as this was in the middle of the night Eric asked that we give his friend $20). It turned out that his friend couldn't make it, so waiting in the carpark at 3:45am was Eric! When we got to the airport he didn't even ask for any money, though I gave him the $20 and our sincere thanks. He is a truly lovely man, who just aims to please.

I would recommend this B&B highly, it was a lovely end to our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

One of the best B&B stayes we have had the rooms are very good quality well looked after in fact everything is top class. A very large garden surround this magnificent house and it was so good to relax in these fantastic surroundings, the owners provide us with an excellent breakfast indeed everything we could wish for.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MeconopsisAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.7 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,994 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
3.8 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#135 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Garden B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Garden B & B

Address: 358 Sawyers Arms Road | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $128 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shamrock Garden B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing