We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to staying in Christchurch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great alternative to staying in Christchurch”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

2A & 2C. Stayed here at the end of a tour around the South Island and wanted something a bit different with not too much of a trip to Christchurch for our flight out.

We enjoyed staying here. It was great being able to go around the farm and meet all of the animals. Lorna was happy to show us around and introduce us to the rest of the hosts; from the Alpacas through to the flock of sheep. We also saw the remnants of a storm which had occurred recently and had kept them busy with the clean-up.

We had the entire upper level of the house to ourselves which was nice and allowed us to spread out a bit. The rooms are warm and comfortable and we had a good night’s sleep. As you are a little out of Christchurch the noise was minimal.

Breakfast in the morning was very nice with all of our needs being covered (and I get the impression you would probably need to have a very special request for it not to be covered).

If we were travelling through Christchurch again then we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to go into detail about us. We hope to see you and the girls again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Really appreciated Lorna's time & explanations about her small farm, the alpacas, the sheep, dogs and chicken.

She was very patient when our two sons enjoyed feeding all the animals, especially the alpacas.

All staying conditions were perfect.

The place is also very convenient due to its close proximity to Christchurch airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you, Patric and Anne for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and the boys and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the individual attention received. We traveled with 2 small children, and there was plenty of room inside and outside for them to play. We enjoyed visiting the animals and feeding them the first day, although it would have been nice to have some extra food available to feed the animals later on during our stay, as previous farmstays had given us a bag or container of food to feed animal at our leisure. Breakfast was made to order and plentiful. Prices were very good for the level of service received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay. We're always keen that our guests have a great time here, so thank you also for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lorna and Steve played good host to our two-night-stay here. A big storm uprooted lots of trees and damaged the power lines in this area in the first night of our stay. Despite the power outage, Steve borrowed a generator from his neighbour to provide electricity to power the lights. And Lorna, with her resourcefulness, managed to cook us hearty home-cooked breakfasts using a spare gas stove in the garage.

We are a family of two adults and two young children. The accommodation consists of a double-beded master room, a single-beded room and a living room with pantry. Free wifi, TV, fridge and kettle available for use.

The kids love to see the animals in the farm which include alpacas, dogs, chicken and sheep. They get to collect eggs from the coop in the morning for making breakfast. Plum trees are abundant and lemon tree also adds to the supplies of ingredients for jam-making by Lorna, which is also served on the breakfast table.

Warm and homely feel permeates despite chilly winds outdoors. Memorable experience of a farm stay despite electricity outage. Go and feel it yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speckypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, and for being wonderful guests in a bit of a crisis. We were without power for nearly a week and are now very well organised with our own generator etc. We've also gone ahead with our plans to alter the single bedroom, which is now a twin, with single and king single beds - perfect for your next visit? We hope the rest of your holiday only contained pleasant surprises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for families, couples and animal lovers. The hostess is so kind and accommodating. Breakfast is prepared for you everyday, and there are some excellent restaurants nearby-for a wide range of people. On the property are healthy chickens, sheep, alpaca, and dogs. You are allowed to feed and interact with these gentle animals. The dogs are perfect- friendly, calm, not too noisy, and love kids! There are some woods on the property as well that are fun to explore or run in. Since it is a private area of trees, it is very safe as well. The inn is a bit away downtown Christchurch which is great for relaxation reasons, but it is not a long drive to get downtown anyway. I highly recommend this place to tourists and travelers of all kinds!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks, Micaela, for your generous review. We are so pleased that you liked being here. We hope that the rest of your holiday contained heaps of ski-ing, great health and no more glitches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We found Miners Arms on New Zealand's tourist website (www.tourism.net.nz) and I was completely sold on the alpacas. We only stayed for one night, but the experience was quite, pleasant, and just the right amount of attentive. Lorna showed us around the farm and our upstairs bedrooms, sitting rooms, and balcony and then let us feed the alpacas and use them for a photo op.

They have three very friendly big dogs that live outdoors (George, Sky, and Alfred), several alpacas, sheep, and chickens. In fact, the delicious eggs we had the next morning for breakfast were a part of what we had gathered the night before!

We felt at home, the amenities were nice (like a towel warmer in the bathroom), and the internet was fast. It felt very much like an English countryside stay and I appreciate the nostalgia.

Thank you Lorna and Steve!
~Nicole and Allie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbrand8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you , Nicole and Allie, for your lovely reviews ,here and on the AA site. We're so pleased that you enjoyed being here. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we hope you had a good trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Miners Arms for 2 nights with 2 small children in tow and had a wonderful time. As the weather was not fantastic we were limited to what we could do around Christchurch. The farm proved to be an excellent place for the kids to be entertained for several hours, feeding the animals, walking with the lovely dogs in the woods and having a run round. Lorna was a great host, cooks great breakfasts and is great with kids. Accommodation very clean, with very comfy beds :). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review, Ali. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, and also your brother and his family the following weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
9.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
#1 of 4 in Rangiora
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Halkett Grove Bed And Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
St James Bed & Breakfast
St James Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 130 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast

Property: Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 441 Old West Coast Road | West Melton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Christchurch International Airport and on the western edge of Christchurch city and its attractions. A warm welcome to Miners Arms and enjoy an attractive and comfortable private first floor suite to yourself. Our home is set in a peaceful 10 acres of orchard, paddocks and woodland with alpacas and sheep to meet. Most B+Bs give you a room - at Miners Arms you will have our whole first floor suite to yourself. Sleeping 1-4, the suite has 4 comfortable, attractive and well-equipped rooms overlooking the garden, paddocks, orchard and woodland - queen bedroom, twin bedroom with single bed and king single bed), lounge with comfortable seating, fridge, microwave, complimentary hot drinks, Sky TV, DVD and a variety of DVDs, books, board games), full bathroom and shower and your own balcony with seating and a great view of the property, sunset and the stars. Relax, or explore our 10 acres, feed the alpacas, sheep and chickens , get to know our dogs Frankie and Sky. After a restful night's sleep, we will serve you a generous breakfast of cooked/continental choices at a time to suit you. 5-10 Minute drive to , Rolleston Tranz Alpine train station, malls at Hornby and Rccarton, Dressmart outlet store, West Melton and various wineries (Larcombs, Tresillian, Trents, Langdales), 5 golf courses, Orana Park, Antarctic Centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing