We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass this one”

Canterbury Leisure Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.51*
and up
Waipara Wine Trail Tour from Christchurch
More Info
$111.77*
and up
Christchurch Horse Trekking
More Info
$96.86*
and up
Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing
Reviewed February 9, 2012

A bit disappointing. Our friends had told us about the Antarctic Center and
Christchurch. There was some confusion with the tour as to what bus or van we were supposed to be on. We were directed to get on a bus to Christchurch, and then transferred to a gentleman's car, who took us to the Antarctic Center. Although the gentleman who took us around Christchurch was personable, the tour was not as we expected.

Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Leisure Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

We did not even get to see the Whale Watch for TWICE!!

I would definitely never going to recommend Canterbury Leisure Tours to anyone!

We missed our whale watch trip to Kaikoura due to the volcanic ashes and CLT's staff promised us to offer an alternative date if we could extend our trip coz there would be no refund as the incident happened within 24hrs. It was well noted though we did not intentionally miss the trip that we so look forward to participate in NZ!

The sad truth was when we did extend our trip and confirm on doing it, CLT turned around and offered us a 1/2 day sightseeing instead coz it was not economical for them to do so for 2 persons as on the scheduled date we missed, they also only had 2 persons then.

Hence, the CEO wrote to our agency stating that they should not offer this goodwill to us if they knew this would cause a backlash on them. And they should simply abide by their policy for a no Refund for Cancellation within 24hrs!

Well, we as consumers paid extra for lodging, change of flight booking fees, etc thinking CLT would honor their words but this is what we get instead.

You guys be the judge then...

1  Thank sageds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure, Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2011

You were originaly booked with us to travel to Kaikoura for Whale Watching on the 17th June, unfortunately due to the Ash Cloud from the Chilean Volonco your flight from Singapore was relocated to Auckland and you were not in Christchurch on the day of travel.

Understanding these unique circumstances we did not invoke our standard cancellation policy, but offered an alternative day if you had one available. On the 22nd June you phoned looking to travel on the 25th June, and were advised that you would be on standby as at that stage we had no Whale Watch tour operating on that day. At that time you advised that you would call back to confirm arrangments, you were not entered into the reservation system even on a standby basis. On the evening of the 24th June you phoned to make arrangments for travel to Kaikoura on the 25th, At this time, due to no other bookings you were advised that the tour was not operating. We offered our city sights tour and included the International Antarctic Centre and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve, all without charge, this you accepted.

You can judge for yourself of whether this complaint has any merit and whether we have acted more than reasonably in this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We joined Canterbury leisure tours on a day trip from christchurch to kaikoura to watch whales. It was a scam! Firstly the driver who drove us down arrive @ kaikoura late so we missed the bus taking visitors to the boat. The guide made some excuses about the boat being cancelled because of rough seas and "upgraded" us to a plane. Still no whales. And what they promise on their website about colonies of seals is a lie. We only saw one injured seal lying on the beach. Doesn't help that the guide's attitude was sarcastic. What they promised on their website about getiing 80% refund if no whales sighted is a lie because when that happens, all they do is shrug and say they can't control nature. Canterbury leisure tours is a scam and you'll get better value-for-money driving down to kaikoura yourself.

2  Thank lipjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016
Google Translation

Thank christina_paciuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure, Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2016
Google Translation

Thank gadfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterburyleisure, Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Leisure Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Canterbury Leisure Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing