We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St James Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$239
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$120
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$153
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$110
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$83
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
76
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnolia roombed and breakfastclose to the airporthighly recommend stshared bathroomheated mattress padevery guestone nightinternational antarctic centrebeautiful housebreakfast was amazingnew zealandlong flightlast nightyogurtlittle toucheswonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 85 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Margaret the host is just amazing; nothing was too much trouble, it’s advertised as a B & B but trust me this is easily the equivalent of a 5 Star hotel. The quality of the accommodation was excellent. Truly don’t miss out on staying here!

Room Tip: Magnolia Room excellent, comes with a private lounge
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCW105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at St James one night on our arrival, and two as we departed Christchurch. This is a beautiful home only surpassed by the beautiful lady (Margaret) who owns it. She looks after her guests like they are special friends, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are of a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Her breakfasts are great even down to the eggs from her own chooks !! you could'nt stay at a better B & B. Very conveniently located to the airport, and the pub down the road serves great food at very reasonable rates. Thanks again Margaret for a wonderful stay !! and thank spoodle for the cuddles xx

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Dear Margaret,
It was a great pleasure to stay at your beautiful house which seemed like an oasis of piece. Thank you once again for a wonderful time we had at your place and especially for the tips about the Willowbank Reserve and the “seal nursery”. They were both fantastic! All of us had a great time there.
Thank you for your hospitality and care. And for the breakfast which was one of best we had in our lives :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived about 1.30am, having already pre-warned Margaret, our host, that we would be late. Taped to the door was the entry key and what .room we would be having. Being so late, and a little bit jet lagged, we of course were late getting up for breakfast. All the other guests had long gone out. Not a problem to Margaret, she said not to worry, and got us our breakfast. Full monty too! St James is near the airport, but any aircraft noise is minimal, so it is really convenient. There is a lovely garden that guests can use. We spent the rest of the morning lazing out there, still getting over the jet lag. NOTHING seems to faze Margaret at all. Anything you want or ask her, is readily available; the rooms are quiet and comfortable, which is an understatement; breakfasts are fresh and plentiful. We had booked a room for our return to Christchurh, but in the event, we arrived a day early, hoping against hope that Margaret could accommodate us. All the "public" rooms were booked, but she quickly made one of the family rooms available for that night for us. Not a problem!! Is this the best Guest house on South Island? If it's not, I don't know where the best one is, because you would have to go a long way to find it. We were a month on South Island, and in our opinion, St James is the best, and we must have stayed in 15-20 different places, most of them very good, so we are in a position to judge.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs room, and you'll get a suite with doors onto the patio!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gladiatorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My sister Kay & I have just left Margaret's home,& what a fabulous home it is.Very warm & welcoming with the added bonus of meeting Spoodie & her family :) (Margaret,s dog).Margaret is a fantastic host & nothing is to much trouble.Her home made banana cake was very grateful after a long journey.The loft room is amazing we thought we where in a 5 star luxury hotel not a B&B.Breakfast was cooked to perfection.We are so glad to be returning to Margaret & Spoodie before we leave the South Island.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews