We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good welcome but could be noisy as on main road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
298 Westside Motor Lodge
Ranked #67 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good welcome but could be noisy as on main road”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We received our usual warm welcome at this good motel. The rooms was fine though ours opened virtually onto the main road. However (and this could be just us) the noise was not too bad and we both slept well.

The motel was awkward to get out of during the rush hour onto the main road especially if you are not are confident. Having said that the motel was in a convenient location near to a large shopping mall and a short distance from the airport.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do avoid the rooms near to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom unit for $175 incl GST a night. Very quiet even though on a main road though being on the ground floor we could hear all the goings on in the unit above so the floors/ceiling not well insulated as could hear their alarm go off at 5.00 a.m and when they went to the toilet! Apart from that, clean and tidy, warm and free wifi a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Only stayed one night, lodge isn't too far from the airport - think it was 15 mins drive away. We got reception to book the shared shuttle that will pick you up from in front of your unit - you lock up and can leave the keys to your unit in a small outdoor box outside reception if you're leaving early.

Friendly welcome, got showed around, free milk. Very modern unit - very clean, well equipped and nice jet bath to relax in plus shower.

Basic cooking facilities and a/c unit. Some tea/coffee and a few biscuits were left out too.

Next to a busy road, noise wasn't an issue.

Nearby shops for supplies!

Free internet and use of the washing machine was helpful :)

Each unit has a car space outside.

Grounds were well kept.

Would stay here again as rates were good, property offered was of a good standard and modern.

Room Tip: Share the cost to the airport and book the shared shuttle - they arrived on time and were much cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked this motel through the Qantas website. Stayed two nights. Arrived late. Emailed prior and arranged for late check-in. The room was modern with good bathroom facilities and the bed was comfortable. Hot water ran almost instantly. The room had a "heat pump" or reverse cycle air conditioner which was great for the cold mornings. Bed made up during the day.

Only draw back, which was not for me, but for others maybe the noise from the roadway.

I really enjoyed my stay here. I will stay here again when next in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qantas_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Handy location on the main road into Riccarton. The road noise could be a problem for some but we just closed the windows.
The price was very reasonable and the service was fantastic with the owner showing us our room and giving us fresh milk. We had an upstairs room which was no issue for us, though for elderly or people that find stairs difficult, request a ground floor room.
Very clean and comfortable. Our room had a separate room with a queen bed and a single bed in the lounge room.
Fully self contained with everything you require.
I would recommend this motel as it is clean and is in a good location.

Room Tip: Back ground floor unit would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at the 298 Westside Motor Lodge for three nights. The rooms were very modern and spotless with beautiful grounds. The hotel was in close proximity to the city bus lines. Several of the booking sites (not this hotels) state that there is free airport transfer which is not the case. The hotel offers 200MB of Wi-Fi which did not last very long. We had the spa room which cost a few dollars per night more, but extra cost was worth it. The owners were friendly, but not as friendly as the owners of other motels we stayed at.

Room Tip: Take the spa room for a couple of dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindasColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at this place our last night in New Zealand. We were just looking for a reasonable place to crash. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, walking us to our room and showing us how to use the amenities. They even gave us milk for our coffee. Our room was a studio suite, with a small kitchen. The place was very clean, the bed was comfortable. The only negative was that the AC unit operates on a 2-hr timer, so if you want to run it all night, you'd have to get up every 2 hours to push the button. We didn't need AC, and the windows open, but the room was at ground level in an urban environment, so it might pose a security concern. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#75 of 144 in Christchurch
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#88 of 144 in Christchurch
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
315 Motel Riccarton
315 Motel Riccarton
#22 of 130 in Christchurch
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#47 of 144 in Christchurch
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 298 Westside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 298 Westside Motor Lodge

Property: 298 Westside Motor Lodge
Address: 298 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#43 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 298 Westside Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
298 Westside Motor Lodge has 18 well appointed units ranging in size from studio (two with spas) to three bedroom units. All units have a full kitchen, with attached bathroom and off-street parking. Queen and King size beds plus a combination of twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge enable units to accommodate a variety of family and friend combinations. While communal facilities such as a free guest laundry and BBQ Area help to make your stay more comfortable. All of these facilities and features ensures that we have some of the best accommodation Christchurch has available. Our motel is an extremely popular choice for those looking for temporary Canterbury of University accommodation. Just 800m from campus, we couldn't be much closer. We are conveniently located. Here's a few key places within a short distance. 1km to Westfield Riccarton - the largest mall in the South Island 500m to the Bush Inn Centre - restaurants, bars and retail outlets 800m to the University of Canterbury 1km to the College of Education 3.5kms to the CBS Canterbury Arena - concert, exhibition and sports centre 3.5kms to Addington Raceway - trotting and dog races 3.5kms to Riccarton Racecourse - gallops 5kms to Christchurch City Centre 7kms to Christchurch Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 298 Westside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
298 Westside Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing