We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
Ranked #10 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A good experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights in the access studio unit and would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for extremely clean, well presented motel. The kitchen was well equipped as was the rest of the unit even down to the provision of make up removal wipes. The windows were double glazed to reduce traffic noise so we were able to have a comfortable night's sleep. It's very handy to a good shopping mall & the staff were all very friendly & most helpful.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
57
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just wanted to say what a lovely place to stay , such great service and location. My partner and I stayed there for a night as we visited Christchurch for a concert recently.
The room was modern and clean. Nice touch with the muffins on arrival. Everything is at your doorstep. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsoakerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

One of the best motels ever expereinced. Highly recommended because of space, sound proof rooms, location, cleanliness, service, friendly staff and above all the owners hospitality. Will definitely stay again when I will visit Christchurch a year later to explore rest of the places.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. should ask for first floor front facing for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed overnight at the motel, and found the owners to be very friendly and helpful, but the bed wasn't very comfortable, nor were the rooms as 'soundproof' as advertised. Pillows were big and boofy and hard to get comfortable on, and the neighbours were making a fair bit of noise until the wee small hours, so sleep was rather elusive. Traffic noise also penetrates beneath the front door, and as it is on a main road that was also a bit of an issue. The room itself is, however, well appointed with a neat, modern kitchenette, so if noise is not an issue for you, and you don't mind your beds on the firm side, then this place might be for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beerwench36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Extremely clean and comfortable. Perfect location. Lovely, helpful, friendly hosts and staff. Picked up from the airport and was also able to hire a car. One stop shop! Even though it is on a main road, we barely noticed as so quiet. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found the rooms very clean,the management friendly and helpful and the prices reasonable.We felt as if it we were staying with our family except everyone got along! We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to NZ.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kauri Motel. The rooms were clean and tidy and the sound minimal. it was really close to the mall, eateries and the bus stop (very handy). Our hosts were Kind and Helpful. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to other people.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
0.2 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#20 of 144 in Christchurch
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Motel on Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Motel on Riccarton

Property: Kauri Motel on Riccarton
Address: Corner of Riccarton Rd and Kauri St | Riccarton Christchurch, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kauri Motel on Riccarton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight sound-proofed studio units all have en-suites with either high pressure shower or a spa bath with shower over it. The units are well maintained with nice decor and are warm and cosy with a heat pump/air con, electric blankets on comfortable super King or queen size beds (some also have a King/queen and a single bed), 32" or 42" LCD TV with guest select 51 channels, good cooking facilities. All units are serviced daily. Very friendly service free car parking, newspaper each morning,snack on arrival, free wifi free transfers from and to the airport or railway station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kauri Motel on Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing