We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you need a place to stay in Christchurch, it...”
other travelers have booked this property
Red Door Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom
Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Trendy Decor
Plenty of Space
Dining for Six
Comfortable Couches
Relax in Comfort
Sunny Lounge
Spacious Living Area
Modern Kitchen
Outdoor Living
Sunny Verandah
Tranquil Private Garden
Outdoor Garden Seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ShebaE
Menlo Park, California
1 review
“If you need a place to stay in Christchurch, it doesn't get any better than this.”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Red Door cottage is perfect. It was very clean, neat and very comfortable. It is nicely decorated, nicely furnished and very quiet. It is a complete well stocked home... an oasis that is wonderful to come home to. There are private patios that are nice for sipping wine and eating. It's well located for driving to downtown Christchurch and for getting to the airport.

My sister and I stayed here in March, 2015. If I ever need a place to stay in Christchurch, I will definitely contact Jenny at Red Door cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jenny truly cares for this place and it shows. We couldn't have been more pleased.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasanof
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable & Private”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved the privacy and easy come and go. Very handy to Hagley Park and the Botanic Gardens, the City Centre and Merivale. Very practical and tidy. Very nice touches like the extra provisions in the pantry. Enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tousim09
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top of the line home away from home!”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Red door Cottage to celebrate X-mas in Christchurch during our month-long tour of NZ. Being away from our close ones back home in Canada, we were absolutely thrilled to have such a great and complete home for 4 nights. Much was already said in previous comments, but the garden was calm and inviting and my wife now has a new definition of a dream kitchen! This place raises the bar for others with the attention to detail and high level of quality all around. We really are thankful we got to stay in this beautifully decorated and located cottage. It made our visit of Christchurch that much more enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare12
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no more, Red Door Cottage is a perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were very lucky to find this house when we were looking for lodging in Christchurch. After arriving late from a long flight,(because we had to wait for over one hour at the airport), we were starving. Upon arrival, we found the house warm and inviting. We did not expect to find a loaf of bread in the fridge. We were very grateful that we did not need to run to the fast food restaurant late that night. Jenny is very thoughtful and her attention to detail really made our stay very wonderful. Her place is beautiful and clean. The garden is very well kept and great place to hang out. The Kitchen is a heaven for people who like to cook, it has all the spices you need. I felt like I was in my own house. I could not hesitate to recommend this place, I was sorry that the place was booked up in later part of my trip. In conclusion, LOVE THIS HOUSE!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbking21
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Jenny was great, our stay was more than enjoyable. Everything was provided on our 2 week stay all we had to do was buy groceries. We loved it and the kids loved it. Definitely larger than expected. It was private, clean, warm and close to everything you need. By far one of the most accommodating and relaxing places we have stayed in especially having a young family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elise1939
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb- exceeds every expectation”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Ideal location - quiet, yet close to Merivale Mall, coffee shops and restaurants, this cottage must be absolutely unique. beautifully furnished and supplied with everything. Attention to detail is amazing, from luxurious beds to a fully stocked fridge, books, CDs and a complete kitchen. The garden and courtyards are absolutely delightful. This is a true gem!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic stay. This cottage has it all. The location is great, we walked into the CBD. It was so comfortable & homely, the gardens were beautiful & the pantry was sensational, the fact that we could use what was in the fridge & pantry meant that we didn't have to buy a number of items for our 2 night stay. I would highly recommend this cottage and jenny was a breeze to deal with

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing