We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESUM”

International Antarctic Centre
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$28.84*
and up
International Antarctic Center Express Admission Ticket
Ranked #11 of 237 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's the ultimate Antarctic adventure! Experience the dramatic seasonal lighting in the four seasons of Antarctica show where it 'snows' every 6 minutes. Venture out on to 'the ice' from Scott Base to play in 'Antarctica' the snow & ice experience and survive an Antarctic storm! How long can you hold your hand in the icy Antarctic water? Hang out with Little Blue Penguins, buckle up for the famously exciting Hagglund ride, take an awesome simulated 4D Antarctic cruise, watch Happy Feet 4D, then watch a stunning movie on a MASSIVE screen! It's the closest you'll get to Antarctica without mounting your own expedition!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESUM”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

took 6 yr old grandson for his first visit, and we think he was the perfect age, he thoroughly enjoyed everything. The Haggland ride and 4D movie were his favorite, but he couldn't decided if the storm room should be in top 2 as well. Great afternoon, Enjoyed by all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank debs200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiD447, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. Our 6 year old loves the Hagglund ride too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    622
    222
    68
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“try the stormroom @ -18deg”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

it is very interactive and educational to look at life in Antarctic. its amazing how these people had to learn and endure so that we ... can live better. I love the hagglund ride but my 4-year old and hubby prefer the happy feet show :-)
one of the best museum we visited in Christchurch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KindCompassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiD447, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. I love seeing fab reviews from visitors that had a great time here. We put a lot into making this a fun place for everyone to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very real, fun and interactive Antarctic experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

How much more interactive can you get than experiencing what the Antarctic is like in their storm chamber with real snow and -25 degree Wind chill temperatures. We watched the feeding of the rescued little blue penguins which you can see above and below water. You can also see the penguins in their burrows which was pretty unique.

The kids particularly enjoyed the 4D Ice Voyage film and our son (9 years) loved the hagglund all terrain amphibious vehicle ride in which the vehicles used to take you over a constructed exterior terrain are the same used by the Antarctic teams (our 6 year old daughter less so).

We finished by watching an HD film that takes you through the Antarctic geography, wildlife and seascapes.

So much crammed in made it excellent value.

There are luggage lockers for hire if you've just come from/going to the airport.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiD447, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I love hearing stories from visitors that really take the time to fully enjoy all the experiences here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Museum”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This one is definitely the best museum we visited in New Zealand as there are so many things you can experience. My husband absolutely loved the Hagglund ride though I liked the Blue Penguins much better. ^^ You can also experience a summer storm in the Antarctic and learn a lot about the expeditions which went there. A must do!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EMellmydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiD447, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review - we love top ratings! Happy you had a great time here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for children and families”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nice exhibits. It seems a bit on the expensive side for me, but you do learn a lot. You really get an idea of what it's like in Antarctica. If you have never been to an acrtic or antarctice museum or intearctive museum, I would take the time to see this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiD447, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed your Antarctic experience. I hope you also got a chance to see the 4D shows and take the great Hagglund ride while you were here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Antarctic Centre also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to International Antarctic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing