We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids Enjoyed but not value for Money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Antarctic Centre

International Antarctic Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.48*
and up
International Antarctic Center General Admission Ticket
Ranked #11 of 227 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's the ultimate Antarctic adventure! Experience the dramatic seasonal lighting in the four seasons of Antarctica show where it 'snows' every 6 minutes. Venture out on to 'the ice' from Scott Base to play in 'Antarctica' the snow & ice experience and survive an Antarctic storm! How long can you hold your hand in the icy Antarctic water? Hang out with Little Blue Penguins, buckle up for the famously exciting Hagglund ride, take an awesome simulated 4D Antarctic cruise, watch Happy Feet 4D, then watch a stunning movie on a MASSIVE screen! It's the closest you'll get to Antarctica without mounting your own expedition!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids Enjoyed but not value for Money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The kids enjoyed there time here which is the main thing, but value for moneyw as not had, the lay out of the exibit was poor, finding your way around got confusing, it was not set up for push chairs, Exibits all seemed to be at the same time meaning you had to make a choice or hang around until the next time.
Enjoyed but not something i would be in a hurry to go back too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank qsgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki S, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your feedback on the difficulties you had finding your way around. We are reviewing the attraction maps and directional signage to make it as easy as possible for visitors to find their way. Nice to read that your kids had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    591
    207
    67
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Fun for Families of All Ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We really enjoyed this attraction and actually visited on two separate occasions, first in 2006 and again In 2012. My children enjoyed it both times and the centre provided a new experience based on the age differences.

If in the area and you have a half-day to spare, this is definitely a fun-for-the-entire family event; extremely informative I must add too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamesanderson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki S, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Welcome back! Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate you sharing your enjoyment of the experience here at the International Antarctic Centre with other Trip Advisor fans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative Place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good place to visit with plenty of information on the Antarctic continent, the history to the present day as well as the natural history of flora and fauna of the continent. There is a cold room where you can experience Antarctic weather, coats, gloves and boots are provided. Little Blue Penguins are a pleasure to watch as you can see their antics from under the water (like an aquarium – you don’t need a wetsuit), 4D show, and the Hagglund ride is worth extra. It’s not a long ride but you won’t forget it in a hurry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki S, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're glad you had a great time here! The Penguins are very cute and keep us all entertained with their antics (especially right now - it's breeding season!). We offer unlimited Hagglund rides with the Xtreme entry pass now so even better value for your money. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good attraction of you are at the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Antarctic centre is conveniently located 5 minutes walk from the airport and is well sign posted from the arrivals area. It was a good way to kill a few hours after check in. Interesting exhibits and good fun watching the penguins being fed and in the snow room

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobbinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki S, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for your review, sounds like you had a good time and we love to hear that. Yes, we are perfectly located for visitors arriving at or departing from Christchurch Airport and a great way to spend some time before an international or domestic flight. We offer luggage storage lockers too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

So much to see about the history on Antarctica, you can even go in and experience a snow storm. Go on the hagalund ride you wont regret it. Great for families or individuals

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwiboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki S, Manager at International Antarctic Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, looks like you had a great time here and we love to hear that! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Antarctic Centre also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to International Antarctic Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing