We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Guest House
Ranked #55 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“HOME”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is literally a home away from home. We stayed here for a few nights. The friendliness of the hosts can really make or break a stay; and I am glad we stayed here because the hosts are the best! They are super nice and soft-spoken and willing to help wherever possible. We booked the room with the private toilet. It was clean and the heater and bed warmers were excellent for the really cold nights. We could use the common kitchen for free. Laundry and dryer was charged but it is the cheapest I have come across in NZ. Wifi is good and he charges a nominal sum for the entire stay. All in all, we enjoyed the stay and it was definitely a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armani123sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments - so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope we can help again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed at Thistle Guest house for five nights in April 2012 and was very impressed with the quality of this accomodation. It is in Riccarton and has good connection to public transport. There are many shops and restaurants in walking distance from the guest house.
My room was quiet and very clean. The guest house has a big kitchen, laundry facilities and a lovely garden. There is WIFI at very reasonable prices.
John was a fantastic host. I was picked up at the train station when I arrived and he helped me with all my questions concerning my time in Christchurch. I had a great time in Thistle Guest House and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank --Regensburg--4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been staying at Thistle Guest house a number of time. My first time was in 2005 and have been returning hear time and time again. The place is spotless, its nice and warm in Winter.

There is a shared kitchen which is always clean and plenty of space. Also a fridge in each room.

There is a direct bus out side, supermarket and a shopping mall in walking distance. Supermarket is about a five min walk and the shopping mall is about 9 minutes.

A nice relaxing place to stay.

They have wifi around the place, the price is not expensive and the signal is great.

Room Tip: I recommence room 9 as it has the King Bed. Room 1 has its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Thistle was a great place for us on our one night Christchurch stay...the same day we arrived from Hong Kong. Simple/Quick check-in & out. Great price with a small and clean room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

we can only say WONDERFUL things about Thistle Guest House ...thank you John you are a wonderful host from our telephone conversations to emails to meeting you in person ..

a nice welcome at the airport and thanks for showing us where to do some shopping and to eat ..we can recommend the Chinese restaurant just down the road ...we had so much we had the left overs for breakfast

the room is what you see in the photos ....very clean and comfortable ...we wish we had of stayed for more than one night ....

all the best John and hope to stay with you if we return to Christchurch

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wargab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was wonderful. John and Alison were so nice and friendly. Our room was amazing. John was at the train station waiting for us when we arrived there and he gave us a tour of the surrounding. It was one of the best place we stayed while in NZ.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineAndAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Thistle.Nice cosy & spotlessly clean room, great facilities, great location within walking distance to Countdown supermarket, shopping mall, eateries and a very nice and hospitable owner,John who is always there to assist whenever needed. Excellent service! I would thoroughly recommend this guest house to all travellers out there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacqieMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,831 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 145 in Christchurch
1,820 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
714 reviews
4.4 mi away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#61 of 145 in Christchurch
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Guest House

Property: Thistle Guest House
Address: 21 Main South Road | Church Corner Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and affordable bed & breakfast or room only. All rooms have fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Guest kitchen, laundry and lounge. Off-street parking. Handy location at Church Corner: shops, restaurants, buses. Close university, airport and rail (courtesy pick up by arrangement). Wireless internet for your laptop/devise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing