We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here during April for 2 nights then another 3, changing a booking from another hotel after realising how nice this one was. Manager and staff were lovely, pleasant, helpful. Rooms spotless, lovely clean bathrooms and linen. Would highly recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor unit for ease of carrying bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 391 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

We recently stayed at your Motel while attending a family wedding. We found your rooms and service of a high standard. The rooms were clean and tidy and we had a very comfortable stay. We found the staff lovely to deal with and when a family member accidently left something behind they phoned and organised to return it which was fantastic and honest. I would HIGHLY recommend this establishment again and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: If you want a spa bath option choose downstair rooms. For shower boxes choose upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I picked this motel for a post-campervan shower and comfy night's sleep and we weren't disappointed. My booking (via booking.com) went slightly wrong but the owners responded immediately to my email and got it all sorted. I chose the location because I had thought it was a nice area - pre-quake. To be honest, Christchurch was a bit of a shock, and we really struggled to find somewhere to eat. We snuck into an Italian a couple of blocks towards the CBD in the end, but a week later discovered the Edgeware Rd area which is an easy walk from here. The guy who greeted us and was working there the whole time we stayed could not have been more helpful. We wanted to book another night for our return to Christchurch but they were full so he phoned around and found us a very suitable alternative without being asked to do that. The apartment was clean and pleasant, and the beds comfy and the motel had good facilities with a laundry etc. I would definitely stay there again. It's not cheap, but Christchurch is expensive these days, and I feel it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The owner/manager was so very helpful to us as we arrived on Easter Saturday in the rain. We needed somewhere to eat on this bleak night where most of Christchurch was closed. The owner/manager could not have been more helpful, phoning possible restaurants before sending us on to the one place that was buzzing with life and good service as well a good food - Bealey's Speight's Ale House. Our room for 3 adults consisted of a Queen-size bed and a fold-out which was reasonably comfortable. The room was quiet, though small and walking distance to the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great place to stay. Safe and ideal location to explore city. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms are clean and serviced daily. Free internet for length of stay. Great for solo or groups of travellers. Close to restaurants and walking distance into city.

Room Tip: I have stayed here 3-4 times and all rooms I have been in are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 480Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed in this motel previously so quite happy to go back.
The service was great. Comfortable clean rooms. Have no hesitation in recommending it.
We had a car so driving to restaurants wasn't a problem however there were several within a few blocks walk.

Room Tip: Is two storied so if you need ground floor I suggest you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Travelling at the beginning of winter, great heating, electric blanket on the bed, thick curtains, warm and cosy. Very basic in room services, and everything was immaculately clean. Now that the restaurants are being rebuilt with new venues opening you are within a 2 block walk to the convention centre, and a small strip of food venues for breakfast and evening food. (The Irish pub called the Bog is worth a visit)

Room Tip: choose a room on the ground floor at the back of the complex, room 17 has glass slider doors and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $82 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing