We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
South Pole
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Can't say enough about the lovely ladies that ran the motel. Went so far out of their way for me. Didn't charge me for first night that I couldn't make, but held the room during the busiest week of the year. Let me check in later to spend less time at the airport for late flight. Just great people! Super quiet, clean, and comfortable.....but overall the staff makes it 5 star!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
187
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had two nights here, after a late flight arrival, staff greated us and straight to bed.
Beds very comfortable, Plenty of space in this 2 bed apartment. Quiet and close to everything.
It is hard to gauge how the city was before the dreadful earthquake, but the spirit of the townspeople is fantastic. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful.
I would encourage visitors to spend their money and time in this lovely city. Gardens and river area still beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late from our journey from Queenstown tired and weary. Tina our hostess and her friendly cat welcomed us as though we were family. Tina deserves to have the hostess of the year award. We cannot recommend this motel highly enough a tidy, warm, clean and friendly motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed twice already and planning to come back.
Very convenient central location, quiet at night, restaurant and excellent breakfast place in walking distance. Clean, modern rooms and facilities, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This review is based on the second night of our two night stay. An error through an external booking agency meant an error with the room we booked for the first night which was able to be rectified by the second night.
The room was clean, light and had good bathroom and kitchen facilities. It was very comfortable and we would be happy to recommend this room to our friends for future visits.

It was walking distance to the town centre and had on-site carparking.

Beautiful cherry trees welcome you as you drive in the gates

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the reception seemed to be better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks as earthquake refugees and the motel was everything that we needed. The place is run by very nice people, and although close to the old CBD the motel is very quiet which is a bonus. The grounds are lovely with some historic trees and plenty of parking. We had a one bedroom unit which had plenty of space, great choice of TV channels, and good pressure in the shower - all important factors! There is a microwave and we got a hot plate from Tina, plus pots, and there was everything else that we needed, including good coffee. For takeaway food, try the Thai Container on Bealey Avenue alongside the 24 hour surgery. Highly recommended as a nice play to stay. Good facilities for those with handicaps too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IanfromRAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is on the airport side of the city centre and very close to Briely St so easy access to other parts of ChCh.

Very nice and big rooms, newly built, and little extras like cooking facilities, cable TV etc

Would stay here again

Room Tip: They're all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Property: City Centre Motel
Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing