We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Centre Motel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$91
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
$234
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$176
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airways Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
$100
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
250
121
29
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
121
29
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolombo streetroom was cleanfree wifioff street parkingsouth islandstudio apartmentelectric blanketsthe ground floorshower headplace to stayquiet locationvisiting christchurchnice staybotanic gardenshagley parkmotelearthquake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 403 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here and survived a few earthquakes here! The room was so much bigger than we expected. It had a little kitchenette, large bathroom, tv and sitting area. No issues with WiFi. Room was very clean. The owner Tina is just darling. She always was helpful and eager to tell us great places to check out. Very near the city center. Get help from the owners about getting around because the downtown area is closed up from the earthquake. Parking on site as well. I am told that the gardens around the motel are beautiful during the warmer months. We traveled during the winter so we didn't get to enjoy that.

Room Tip: Studio apartment was more than enough room for 2!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our party of 4 stayed in a two bedroom apartment at this motel.

+
Decent size
Free internet
Very helpful and friendly reception
Kitchen supplied with most things you would need
Quiet (we were in a unit that was further away from the road)

-
May be on the slightly more expensive side
Extremely slow internet
Slightly older facilities (maybe clean up the stairs or a fresh coat of paint would help?)

Note: Because of the earthquake and closure of downtown Christchurch, we were on the north side of the closed off area. This was not particularly inconvenient for us since we had our own car but may be a little more difficult for those who do not.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandervne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We received a very warm welcome, with lots of helpful information. The room was good, with a nice outlook over the trees and garden. If I can, I choose to stay in accommodation with free wifi, but on this occasion it basically didn't work. The connection to the wifi was OK, but the connection through the Hotspot provider was so slow that it was completely useless. I managed to download email headers over the space of about an hour, and that was it! I tried to connect a number of times, in case it was a temporary problem, but always the same. SO . . . good place to stay if you don't need wifi.

Room Tip: Aim for an upstairs room - much more light.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I, along with my sister-in-law stayed here for 3 nights - our grand finale location before departing NZ. It was a great choice and great location - near near the city center, the gardens, museums, restaurants, casino, etc.. Very nice rooms, well appointed and parking was no issue at all. The staff was very informative and pointed us in many right directions, which was extremely helpful with all of the terrible destruction throughout the area caused by the huge earthquakes a few years ago. The magnificent gardens and nice walks, tours, museums and unique places to eat and enjoy a variety of things is a big draw. Evenings concerts in the Gardens and more. Even though Christchurch is "under recontruction" it is worth the visit - people are super!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the motel twice during May 2012 as we travelled around the South Island, part of a long, round the world trip. We stayed in many places during our 8 months away but in terms of amazing service, helpfullness and consideration, this was the best anywhere in the world. The studio apartments we stayed in (different ones each time but the same high quality) were spotless, comfortable and had everything we need in terms of equipment. The bed was comfortable, the room was modern, clean and well-heated and fantatsiv value for money.

However, what made our stay at the Motel so memorable was Tina, one of the the wonderful owners. We arrived late at night and she was there to greet us, provide everything we needed and a few extras to make our stay even nicer (the free wifi for both our laptops was a blessing). She was a mine of information about the city, what we could do and where we could go. More than this, she was just so kind and considerate - it is what you always hope to find when staying somewhere but so rarely is it like this. Over the next few days we got to know the other staff and they were equally welcoming. The motel was perfect for the city centre, and the interstate bus stop which we needed to use. We had read about the service at the City Centre motel and hoped it would be good - in fact, it far exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay there again. What great people!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ourworldtour2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews