We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The rooms were clean, spacious inviting and at location close to everything needed. The owners and staff could not be more welcoming, helpful and friendly. Overall highly recommended to any person that wishes to stay at Christchurch.
Mel and Elizabeth

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank astroboy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 393 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

The rooms were spacious and clean and the location was within walking distance of most things. We were a bit worried about getting around after the earthquakes but were able to see so many beautiful things within walking distance from the Hotel. The staff were lovely. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Alicia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family of four (two kids aged 7 and 5) flew into Christchurch very late, landing at 1.15am! But we had already received a helpful email from the owners explaining they would leave an envelope taped to the reception wall for us. The 2 bedroom unit was heated and the electric blankets were on, fabulous. There was a small carton of milk in the fridge. The spa bath was terrific and the toiletries were lovely. The unit was immaculately clean and fresh. The kids loved the twin beds and our bed was super cosy and comfortable. The host Tina was absolutely lovely and very helpful with maps and information. I told Tina we were heading to Mount Hutt snow field next and when we checked out she gave us a printout of the snow/weather forecast on Mount Hutt for the next week, very helpful.
It is a short walk to local dairies (corner milk bar) but you need a car to drive to a supermarket. In fact you need a car to get anywhere really, the city centre is still closed so you need to get creative to move around. Tina mentioned that many travellers think they can rely on GPS but the GPS doesn't show the red zone that is closed. Ask Tina for a map!
We liked it so much, we booked another night at the end of our trip before we fly out.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Blakefamilyroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We flew into Christchurch from Queenstown on our way back to Gold Coast. We booked two rooms for our family of 6. Tina, the manager welcomed us warmly and was most helpful, directing us to local restaurants, oragnised our maxi taxi to the airport the next day. Rooms were really comfortable. We booked a restaurant for dinner on Saturday night, but couldnt get a taxi. Tina offered us the use of her car and a friends car so we could get to the restaurant, what fantastic hospitality. Thanks for a great experience of the warmth of NZ friendliness

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the first hotel we checked in when we landed in NZ Needless to say, for the journey we were taking together after our wedding, we wanted a perfect peaceful start! And so it was.
We stayed in a one bedroom studio on the ground floor. Nice, hygienic, spotlessly clean bathroom. Tina and Mary are delightful hosts to stay with.
Right from the nearest convenience store to the restaurants in the city, we got all the help we wanted.
When they got to know it was our honeymoon, a small bouquet of flowers was promptly brought to the room!!
Plus, i just happened to ask if there was a place nearby i could get a sports massage to relax myself after a 21 hour long journey...and along with the possible locations, i was handed a back massager i could use in the comfort of my room!

We had a nice stay here.

Completely recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankittravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this motel. It was super clean and all the furnishings in excellent shape. I have never stayed in a motel that smelled this good. The bathroom was so clean it sparkled. Tina made sure the heat was turned on in our room before we got there, gave us lots of good suggestions for food and things to do, and really went above and beyond what was needed to take care of us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernCANorthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Super facility, great location and good price!

We had a wonderful one bedroom suite on the ground floor. The unit was clean, tidy and had just about everything we could think to want! We were given milk to for tea at check in (choice of full fat or skinny), the option for a free newspaper delievered in the AM and 6 HOURS of FREE Wifi for EACH computer!

Tina was absolutley fantastic! She got us registered and then offered TONS of information on where to go, what to see, what to do and where to eat. She even called around to local restaurants to see about their availability, printed us maps, gave us directions - she was truly wonderful!

This place is super - and if you are in CHCH we would HIGHLY recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueyeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
961 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $85 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing