We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel!”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Northern CA
1 review
“Great Motel!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this motel. It was super clean and all the furnishings in excellent shape. I have never stayed in a motel that smelled this good. The bathroom was so clean it sparkled. Tina made sure the heat was turned on in our room before we got there, gave us lots of good suggestions for food and things to do, and really went above and beyond what was needed to take care of us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernCANorthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
187
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Super facility, great location and good price!

We had a wonderful one bedroom suite on the ground floor. The unit was clean, tidy and had just about everything we could think to want! We were given milk to for tea at check in (choice of full fat or skinny), the option for a free newspaper delievered in the AM and 6 HOURS of FREE Wifi for EACH computer!

Tina was absolutley fantastic! She got us registered and then offered TONS of information on where to go, what to see, what to do and where to eat. She even called around to local restaurants to see about their availability, printed us maps, gave us directions - she was truly wonderful!

This place is super - and if you are in CHCH we would HIGHLY recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newborough,Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed with Tina and Mary on our last two visits to Christchurch. The location is close to the city and in quiet surrounds. The motel offers excellent accommodation and the hosts are knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. Bonus: Great coffee is supplied in the room, a rare treat! Thoroughly recommended. Aussie visitors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here overnight after a long drive and before a very early morning flight. We chose it after reading previous reviews and also it was very close to where needed to drop off our hire car. Staff very helpful and friendly, organised wake up call, cab at 3am, along with some scales for us to weigh our luggage! Lovely clean rooms with heating, fridge, coffee/tea making facilities and a microwave which was fantastic as we were able to make ourselves some dinner that we had bought earlier, instead of going out (it was rainy and horrible and all we wanted to do was chill out then sleep before our flight!). One thing I have to mention is the bathroom!! Ultra modern, heated towel rails and the water pressure was super strong and stayed hot the whole time - just what we needed after such a long drive. There is a bath if you want to unwind also.

Great little place :) Cannot comment on location as we didn't really wander anywhere, but it seemed to be only a short walk into the city centre. The only difficult bit was getting to the motel due to the earthquake closing off so many streets - was hard to get around anywhere in the centre of Christchurch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Redefiining standards and expectations.

The owners and staff are warm and welcoming, offering a genuine personal touch oppossed to the systematic superfical corporate greeting recieved at branded motels. Rooms are virtually spotless, well decorated and maintained.

Inline with previous reviews, I can recommend that if in CHC, stay here.

Thai takeaway, operating from a caravan. Is very nice too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night on arrival to New Zealand. We chose it based on trip advisor reviews and it didn't disappoint. The owner was lovely and gave us a lot of advice and also phoned the free shuttle to arrange a pick up for the next morning to the train station to get the Tranzalpine train to Greymouth. The room was pre heated for our arrival and had a lovely big bed with clean modern bathroom. Very nice motel, would recommend. (also the Indian restaurant down the road was still open at 9pm and was delicious!)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mandeem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed two nights here.Personal service from Tina and Mary, who were super helpful. We had a ground floor unit, next to the car park, and it was very quiet. the bathroom has been updated, and was nice. Location was central, and we were told of the areas cordoned off for renovation after the earthquake.
Great value for money as well. Glad we found you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bollywoodqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Property: City Centre Motel
Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing