We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & memorable NZ trip”
Review of Can NZ

Can NZ
Ranked #16 of 93 Tours in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sightseeing tours including ,Aoraki Mount Cook Day tour or overnight trip,Tekapo transfer tour,Christchurch garden tour , Akaroa Day trip with nature cruise or swim with dolphins, Kaikoura whalewatching ,swim with dolphins, Hanmer hot spring trips , Tranz Alpine train day tour with hiking in the Arthurs Pass National Park , wineries and hiking.I prepare homemade 2 course picnic lunches which enables us to have flexibility so that we can change our schedule if the weather is not on our side.My vehicle seats 7 guests. However am able to arrange charters of larger reliable vehicles to suit clients wishes or groups size.I also speak and write Japanese so delighted to assist guests from Japan with their holidays to New Zealand.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent & memorable NZ trip”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are grateful to have Craig Rome as our driver guide during the 1 week NZ South Island trip. He is a friendly, helpful and responsible person . He will always ensure we've seen the most beautiful part of NZ with good weather and great scenery. He is a safe driver, drove almost 1500km over 1 week time; good chef with our favorite dishes; my personal photographer with many beautiful photos taken and very informative guide with every single thing about NZ. With Craig around, we had peace of mind and enjoy ourselves to the max with lots of great memory. I highly recommend Craig Rome for flexible and enjoyable holiday in NZ.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmineyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flexible and Enjoyable Trip”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had Craig bring us round NZ sound island for a week and it is amazing , beautiful and remarkable tour for us, Craig did all he could to provide us lots of local information and take the initiative to recommend good places including foods , picture taking etc... We had picnic next to a nice lake and beautiful scenery. It indeed was a good trip and will definitely come back again. Well done Craig!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elleycheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great One Day Tour from Cruise Ship”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our cruise ship dropped anchor in Akaroa (instead of Lyttleton).
In February 2011, Christchurch was rocked by a 6.1earthquake. The devastation was widespread and many buildings were damaged beyond repair or simply fell down.
We knew that we would be unable to enter the central city, we also knew this would likely be our only trip to the area.
So we again went to tripadvisor.com to find a local guide who could show us the beauty of the Akaroa Peninsula as well as Christchurch.
We found Craig Rome and operates CanNZ Tours. What a great find!
Craig greeted us warmly and drove us up to a hilltop overlook of Barry's Bay - the center of the Akaroa Peninsula.
Craig took the "high road" over the mountain passes where we stopped at a turn out for tea!
Craig produced a picnic table as well delightful goodies including blueberry muffins, snack cakes, and other such delicacies to accompany piping hot tea and coffee!
As we descended into Christchurch, we stopped at an overlook where Craig described the city and the impact of the earthquake.
We proceeded on into the central city area where Craig was able to get us within a block of the Anglican Cathedral as well as many of the other damaged buildings. At no time did we go behind any safety barriers or anything that could be even slightly dangerous - Craig just knew what was accessible and what was not.
After this sobering view of the city, Craig treated us to a fantastic lunch at his house! He even let me help!
We had a splendid day with Craig and only wish we could have spent more time. He treated us more like visiting friends than clients.
I would highly recommend CanNZ to anyone visiting Akaroa or Christchurch.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydalmere, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery and a great guide - Mt Cook”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I took Craig's day tour of Mt Cook this week. In an amazing journey of nearly 700 kilometers and 12 hours, Craig did all he could to give us a good time. He provided lots of local information, stopovers for pictures, great driving, great cooking and even his SD card when mine was full.

Craig did his best and got us to and from an amazing part of NZ safe and sound. If you would like a guide who loves his job, wants to show his beautiful country and alters the tour to your needs, I would highly recommend Craig Rome.

With a friendly attitude and great cooking skills, its no surprise that his day tours have received 5 stars. 5 stars from me as well!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ManishSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Mount Cook Tour”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was down to the reviews found on Trip Advisor that we decided to book our Mount Cook tour with Craig in preference to a coach trip - what a brilliant decision that was! Right from the outset nothing was too much trouble for Craig. It started with what type of trip we wanted it to be (in the end he took just our small family group),through to email requests for lunch/meal options and collection from our chosen accommodation, a house away from central Christchurch. The vehicle was clean and comfortable and whenever/wherever we wanted to pull over for such as a photo stop, Craig was happy to oblige - as opposed to the big organised tour buses where a set timetable has to be adhered to. The weather obviously makes a difference and we were fortunate to have blue sky and sunshine all the way, however Craig had indicated that had the weather been such to spoil the Mount Cook experience he would have been more than happy to alter destinations around. The picnic lunch/meals of soup, bread, quiche and salad (our choice) were excellent quality and all homemade.Overall Craig's knowledge was most impressive and he was happy to impart this throughout the trip. It turned out to be about a 13 hr day - yet it certainly didn't seem to be, testimony indeed! Cannot recommend highly enough.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can NZ also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Can NZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing