We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable digs, lovely owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roma on Riccarton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Ranked #42 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Comfortable digs, lovely owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent only one night here, but could easily have spent more.

Gary was incredibly accommodating, letting us check in early, as soon as our room had been cleaned, which was a huge help to us.

We'd selected the motel based upon reviews here on TA and it's proximity to Hagley Park, where we'd booked a Segway tour for the afternoon of our arrival.

Our unit was spacious (#6), clean and sufficiently quiet. It's located on a busy road and near the train tracks, but neither was a bother thanks to the soundproofing (and I'm sensitive to noise!).

Our unit also had a well equipped kitchenette, a private patio out the back, fast (free) internet and excellent water pressure.

All in all we had a lovely stay and would happily return to Roma on Riccarton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
45
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This motel accepts Barter Card. That's one of the main reasons I chose it.
When we arrived, much to our suprised, it looks so nice. Compare with other motels in South Island, the rate was so attractive, even we paid by Barter card. They didn't charge us some additional fee, like some of the others do, and they treated us like their normal valuable customer, we felt warm there, even it rained and cold.
When we opened the door of our room, much to our surprised again, it's big and warm. Free WIFI's password was put on the table, heater was on,..... We took it right away as our room, and we didn't want to go outside until we were hungry. The bathroom had everything we needed in a clean and nice condition. The kitchen was the same condition as well.
The enthusiastic owner answered our questions in a very gentle and try to help attitude. We felt warm.
The motel was located at a bustling street. Many restaurants are nearby, with different flavor, .like McDonald, Chinese restaurants, Japanese restaurants, Korean restaurants, bars etc. We tried the different one, and enjoyed other countries' favor, so so convenient and, the prices there are attractive too.
To come to the conclusion, we will choose this Motel again when we come to Chch and we feel very confidence to introduce it to our friends, which we did. Our friends came back and were satisfied with this motel as well.
See you again next time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

good room service. friendly host. provide really useful travel information. The room and bathroom are very clean. I am really happy to recommend this motel to all my friends. I definitely will stay this motel when my next business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chen yu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Roma for 5 weeks and the owners were accommodating and friendly. The location is convenient to Riccarton Mall (within walking distance), bus stop outside the door, restaurant and diaries close by, wifi internet and access to the gym across the road at all hours. The room itself was clean and warm with all the necessities. Highly recommend Roma as the place to stay whether you are put out by the EQC repair or visiting Christchurch

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
353 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights earlier this week when I was visiting our Christchurch office. I've stayed here previously and like the location as it's close to both of our offices and very convenient to restaurants and my favourite breakfast place, Sismo across the road!

What struck me about Gary and Yvonne, the owners here is that nothing is too much trouble and they're always so friendly and helpful! They think about the litte things that make staying here such a pleasure such as turning on the electric blanket and heater so when I arrived, the room was an oasis coming in from the cold outside!

Another example of this was when I checked out on Wednesday, it was a typical chilly Canterbury morning at -1 degrees with a heavy frost (possible because I was parked under a tree!) and Gary came out with a bucket of water to wash and clear my windscreen! Now, how many motel owners would do this?

The complementary internet was much appreciated as having to pay extra for this is one of my pet hates!

I was staying in room 3 which is right at the back of the motel and very quiet even though Riccarton Road is a very busy street!

Once again, a great stay and recommended to all!

Room Tip: I was in room 3 at the rear of the motel and I generally prefer the larger units upstairs with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very friendly people and nice place which made it an enjoyable stay.
Very happy to recommend it as a place to stay for anyone visiting Christchurch
It was easy to find and the friendly welcome and assistance with bags etc was appreciated after a long day.
The internet was fast and free which was a real bonus that i wasn't expecting after being charged at other places.
This alone would be enough make me select the Roma for a return visit
Les

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

modern units in a handy location with free WIFI which is a necessity for business travellers. good off street parking and some great restaurants close by including ahjee bhajee indian and Dux de Lux. Good breakfast and lunch café just across the road.
Comfortable beds and modern televisions with SKY sport and movie channels. An ideal property for business travellers and the 2 bedroom units are great for families or groups wanting a comfortable stay in Christchurch

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#68 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#26 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#82 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma on Riccarton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma on Riccarton Motel

Property: Roma on Riccarton Motel
Address: 38 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Roma on Riccarton Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 STAR LUXURY MOTEL IN THE HEART OF RICCARTON- FREE WiFi and FREE 24 HOUR GYM MEMBERSHIP ACROSS STREET DURING STAYRoma on Riccarton Luxury Motel is just 300m from Hagley Park and a short walk to Westfield Shopping Centre at Riccarton Mall. 1-2km to Arts Centre, Museum, Christchurch Public Hospital and Christchurch Womens Hospital. We are 1.5kms to AMI Stadium new home of the Crusaders Rugby Team as well as Addington Raceway, CBS Canterbury Arena and the Tranz Alpine Railway Station. There are numerous restaurants, cafes and bars nearby in Riccarton and Addington.We offer high-quality fittings and smoke-free, FREE WiFi connection as well as high speed internet, 32 inch LCD, Sky TV, DVD player, fully soundproof units. Sunny and restful surroundings. Spa baths in most units. Guest laundry accessed 24 hours with room key. Two phone lines and dedicated free internet connection in each unit. Some units with private garden and patios and some upstairs units with balconies. Free BBQ in private BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Roma on Riccarton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing