We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Well located and easy walking distance to Hagley Park,Bars and resturants. We had a one bedroom unit on the ground floor. VERY QUIET considering the busy road. However 3 of us were staying and when we arrived we had 3 towels but for the next 2 days we had to ask for the 3rd towel. Rubbish was not empty the whole time we were there. Plug in bathroom did not work. Had to ask for toilet paper, condiments not replaced and most of all the bathroom basin was not cleaned!
We normally stay at the motel next door which is far better than here but due to last mintue travel we had to take what we could get.
I will not be returning here

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Judy
It was good to meet you and have you stay with us at Roma. We value your return custom and really appreciated that you gave us clear feedback on check out.
We acted immediately on your feedback, improved our quality check procedures, and have put new measures in place for new team members. The issues you experienced will not happen again. We have worked hard to ensure that the high standards our customers always enjoy at Roma, are always maintained in the future.
We can guarantee that this situation will not happen again, and welcome you back to stay with us again at Roma. We look forward to your positive feedback in the future.

Kind regards
Gary and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
47
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

we have stayed here many times (20+) over the last few years, its a very nice motel, clean and quiet and handy to all we want to do in ChCh. Last weekend we packed the car went across the road to the cafe for breakfast intending to come back and use the loo, do our teeth before checking out, we arrived back to find the cleaners just closing the door and saying we could not use the unit as it was cleaned, we still had the key and 15 min before checkout. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Steve,
We apologise that you were unable to return to your room. We have since spoken with the cleaner concerned, who was new in the job, and this situation will not happen again.
We insist on a very high standard of service for our Roma customers and we are extremely sorry that this happened to you.
Please visit us again. Make yourself known to Gary or myself (Yvonne) at reception when you arrive and we will personally ensure that your stay meets the high standards you have come to expect from everyone at Roma.
Kind regards
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Well located just outside Business District of Auckland for getting local bus into centre, and accessible to Christchurch's main road network for getting into and out of city. We had a studio on the first floor, which was spacious, and fitted and furnished to a very high standard and very clean. Easy parking on site? Minor problem of non operational toaster quickly replaced by management. Good restaurants close by, in particular a high quality Italian Restaurant.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NJC1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had time to explore the wonderful restaurants nearby.
We look forward to seeing you again at Roma.

Kind regards
Gary and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very well decorated from the outside. Nice touches with planters. Is quiet and enjoyed a good night's sleep on a good bed. Rooms clean and well set out. Well placed for walking to sights. Lovely walks in Hagley Park only 5 minutes away. Plenty of good eateries close by. Would be good to have a list of videos available rather than offering box to check through. Disappointed breakfast did not eventuate and no option for coked breakfast but no real hassle other than would have been good to have been told rather than waiting. I was a bit concerned about lock on door which seemed very frail and no security chain on inside. But overall a good stay and would use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Viv
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the convenience of our location. Thank you for your suggestion of a list of movie titles, we will put this together.

Following up on your second suggestion, we are canvasing all our guests on whether they would like a cooked breakfast on site, or would continue to use nearby breakfast restaurants. If there is a clear enough response, we will consider adding cooked breakfasts to our options over winter.

Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Gary and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We liked this place. Good location, no problems with noise or whatnot. For Muslims Nando's is just across the street (halal). Close to everything & so many motels nearby. To give a few suggestions - sponges for washing dishes would be useful, along with a better place to dry the dishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hassanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Scott
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found Nando's to your liking!

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards
Gary and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This small motel looks like any other on the block but boasts some of the lowest rates and top quality rooms. Extremely quiet (surprising considering its location on the main road) and great rooms. If you want to cook a bit, toasters pannini makers and refrigerators in every room. For a couple of days or longer, it will be well worth your time and budget.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
339 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had expected this room to be a bit more spacious and the ceiling seemed low. It was also strange to enter and exit through sliding glass doors. That being said, the room was clean, comfortable and within walking distance to restaurants and parks. We also appreciated the kitchenette and free WI-FI but my favorite was the purple lounge chair.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bczican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#97 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#17 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#83 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma on Riccarton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma on Riccarton Motel

Property: Roma on Riccarton Motel
Address: 38 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Roma on Riccarton Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 STAR LUXURY MOTEL IN THE HEART OF RICCARTON- FREE WiFi and FREE 24 HOUR GYM MEMBERSHIP ACROSS STREET DURING STAYRoma on Riccarton Luxury Motel is just 300m from Hagley Park and a short walk to Westfield Shopping Centre at Riccarton Mall. 1-2km to Arts Centre, Museum, Christchurch Public Hospital and Christchurch Womens Hospital. We are 1.5kms to AMI Stadium new home of the Crusaders Rugby Team as well as Addington Raceway, CBS Canterbury Arena and the Tranz Alpine Railway Station. There are numerous restaurants, cafes and bars nearby in Riccarton and Addington.We offer high-quality fittings and smoke-free, FREE WiFi connection as well as high speed internet, 32 inch LCD, Sky TV, DVD player, fully soundproof units. Sunny and restful surroundings. Spa baths in most units. Guest laundry accessed 24 hours with room key. Two phone lines and dedicated free internet connection in each unit. Some units with private garden and patios and some upstairs units with balconies. Free BBQ in private BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma on Riccarton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing