We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Randolph Motel / Apartments
Ranked #105 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent two nights at the Randolph and enjoyed our stay. Our studio unit was tidy and well presented. Peter at the desk was most helpful providing us instructions on getting around the city dodging street closures. Their location is excellent situated on Papanui Road close to the city centre Just 200 meters up the road is a nice cafe and the Merrivale mall is just a km. further on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Checkin very prompt & efficient.
However, room full of daddy long legs and hair in the bath.
Different guy moved me to another room which was much better (though he couldn't understand what was wrong with other room)! ran the spa bath & black bits came out of the jets. Not the best.
Handy location, but there are plenty others to chose from.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Coupee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked this motel on-line the night before our arrival in Christchurch, after trying some other higher rated options (many were sold out). Randolph's turned out to be perfectly comfortable, clean, and the service was professional and prompt. Perfect with our car as we were easily mobile to drive around town and needed parking. We had a one-bedroom suite with spa tub. It was larger than we needed, but all that was left when we booked. It was lovely, spacious, clean, and quiet. Furniture was a bit dated in style, but not a big drawback. Great place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Randolph Motel on business in March 2013. My room was more like an apartment. It was a 1 bedroom apartment with a Kitchen (Stove, Oven, Full Refrigerator and Microwave). Comfortable leather couch and chair in the living room with smallish flat screen TV and SKY TV channels. The bedroom was a king size bed very spacious. The bathroom was average size, single sink with a separate tub and stand up shower along with a Washer and Dryer. Although this Motel was very comfortable I'm rating it a 3 out of 5 for the 2hr limit of Internet. I was there for business and this was not enough. It is 2013, even Mcdonalds has Free Wifi 24hrs a day - shouldn't Hotels provide this as well - especially for business travelers. The staff was very warm, welcoming and friendly I must note...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grezyerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had book into this motel and received a message saying booking had been cancelled. This was two days after I had booked. Rang the owner who was a rude arrogant man. We stay in Chch several times a year but would not use this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Raylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The day before I was scheduled to arrive I received a message saying that my booking had been cancelled - the owners had accepted another later booking.

Nice facility but not suitable if you are relying in the booking.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kiwijohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were earthquake refugees and very glad we found ourselves at the Randolph. The room finishing was modern cosy and comfortable with everything we could want. Friendly owners looked after us very well and were happy to accommodate our special requests and arrangements.
We have stayed at five other places so far and will reccomend

Room Tip: We had a studio and it was specked out beyond our wildest dreams
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PegeenandStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
MCM Motel Christchurch
MCM Motel Christchurch
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Merivale Court Motel
Merivale Court Motel
#127 of 146 in Christchurch
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casino Court Motor Lodge
Casino Court Motor Lodge
#86 of 146 in Christchurch
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#54 of 146 in Christchurch
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Motel / Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Motel / Apartments

Address: 79 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $125 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Randolph Motel / Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Randolph Motel / Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing