We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resisted a 4.9 earthquake!”

Randolph Motel / Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Randolph Motel / Apartments
Ranked #114 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Resisted a 4.9 earthquake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Spotless place, not even regretting chain hotels.

Was good to speak to Peter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I recently stayed one night at this Motel with my daughter.
The room was clean and spacious, with electric blankets and a heat pump to ensure we were warm on a cold night.
In the morning I asked advise on where to eat breakfast and headed there on checking out.
I accidentally left my I phone in the room and the owner of the Motel drove up to the local shops to return my phone!!! Fantastic service!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary12Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Our trip to Christchurch was a 9 day stay as part of a 2 month trip to Australia and NZ. Whilst in Melbourne on 22 Feb we heard about the dreadful earthquake in Christchurch and wondered whether we should go there as planned on 9 March. After much discussion with friends, family and Peter we decided we would follow our scheduled itinerary. We did not regret it at all. Peter was very welcoming and helpful. The studio apartment was incredibly spacious and spotlessly clean. The kitchenette was perfect for our needs and the washing machine and tumble drier were an added bonus. The bed was huge and comfortable and the wardrobes had plenty of storage space. We would definitely stay there a second time if we are ever lucky enough to visit NZ again. The location is excellent with Merivale and its cafes, shops and restaurants being a short walk away. It is also very near the CBD which was obviously closed during our stay. It was very sad to see the damage to the buildings in all parts of the city and the suburbs and our sympathy goes out to the people of this wonderful place. The CBD being inaccessible did not stop us from making the most of visiting many other areas - Akaroa, Hanmer Springs, Kaikoura to name just a few. The Randolph was a perfect base for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We have stayed at the Randolph probably 6-8 times now. We live in Greymouth and always stay there when visiting Christchurch for business or pleasure. We have stayed & continue to stay in many motels around NZ and we rate the Randolph as one of the best. You won't be disappointed with the facilities, service & cleanliness. When booking the motel, also book Tutto Bene italian restaurant about 5 minutes walk up the road. The combination of restaurant & motel is the best. You'll definitely need to book the restaurant as it's very busy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolmrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We found this lovely motel in chch on our last night of south island trip. We were 2 couples so wechecked in 2 self contained studios, one with shower for our friend and spa bath for us. It was NZ$140/night but I could tell from the full facilities provided which we could pay more than $250/night if this place was a hotel.

One thing that I like about NZ motels is that they will give u a bottle of milk for your breakfast and this motel also give u a bottle of water. The bed was extremely comfortable and with double glazing windows and door to garantee nothing will disturb your sleeping.

Nothing to complain but the rating for this motel should be in top 3 of tripadvisor!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

We booked in here for our last 2 days in NZ. We booked a studio unit but they did not have any available so gave us a one bedroom unit at no extra cost. The rooms were fabulous, very clean and spacious. The kitchen was fully equipt and the washer and dryer in the bathroom were an added bonus. It was the best motel we stayed in during our 4 week trip around NZ.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

The 2 bedroom is excellent, good size, all the equiopment you need is there, cooking facilities excellent, washing machine, dryer, tv, dvd player, satellite tv , heat pump, computer table, good sofas etc

the owner/manager is friendly enough, but did not tell us if internet was available, and when i went to the reception at 8.30 pm, it was already closed.

the thing i find disgusting was - there was hair on the floors of both shower stalls, in the spa bath, which is a sign of poor housekeeping, yuck

otherwsie, a very good property and would stay again, hope the necxt time there is not hair found

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellano Motel Suites
Bellano Motel Suites
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salerno Motel Apartments
Salerno Motel Apartments
#71 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merivale Court Motel
Merivale Court Motel
#127 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Motel / Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Motel / Apartments

Property: Randolph Motel / Apartments
Address: 79 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Randolph Motel / Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Randolph Motel / Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing