We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Around the World Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average place to stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nothing stood out about this hostel as great or horrible. It was nice to have our own light and power point at each bed, but the room was a little crowded. The staff at the desk seemed friendly enough but the hostel didn't feel overly comfortable and the common areas were very small. I stayed two nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi thanks for reviewing us, our hostel is small which so many of our guests love! pleased you enjoyed the power plugs and hopefully you made the most of the free unlimited wifi to. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    35
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
23
57
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was my first time staying in a backpackers/hostel so was initially a bit anxious but it was so great - the people at reception were so nice and helped us find our way around, looked after our bags for us. The room was warm and the bed was so comfy! Overall we felt very safe and comfortable :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailzy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights. Definitely long enough. The bathrooms smell of damp and drains. Gross. However rooms very clean and nice beds. Love the individual lights and plug sockets. Nice touch. Despite waking up to ants below my bed in the morning the room was fine. Staff on the front desk were lovely and always very helpful. Kitchen small but well equipped. fridge in silly place and can be hard to get to. If just passing through for a night or two stay; if only for the staff and your own plug socket on top bed. Anything more. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. But pleased you appreciated our new lights and power plugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quathiaski Cove, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed for a week at Around The World Hostel in Christchurch this month (April, 2014) and was impressed with the friendly, professional staff and the overall high standards of this hostel. One key to their success is their ZERO TOLERANCE policy for drunkenness in the hostel. I have stayed in countless travellers' hostels and seen numerous good hostels go down the drain due to too much boozing and resulting noise, guest abuse, and hostel damage. You can have a drink here at Around The World, certainly, but you must keep your drinking under reasonable control. Bonuses here include free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee, free movies and free local phone calls. Very few hostels anywhere on Earth can equal this, and very few can equal the friendliness, cleanliness, and professionalism of this hostel. Well Done, Around The World; no wonder this hostel wins awards.

Room Tip: This is a nice quiet hostel and therefore room choice is not so very important in my experience. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinewriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we all work hard to achieve reviews like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Accommodation was all booked up in Christchurch at the end of February, and so a friend and I opted to share the Love Shack private double at the Around the World Backpackers east of the central square. The room was tiny, in one of those detached cabins, but for one night it was all we needed. There was a nice big kitchen with lots of dishes, pots and pans. There are multiple lounge areas, and we cozied up in one with our laptops for a little internet time with our free wifi code we received at check-in.

The girl working the desk that night was incredibly friendly. I had booked a train ticket to Picton for the next day, and she was able to call and arrange a free pick-up for me! It really pays to inform your employees and to encourage them to learn these little details. Because of this, I would definitely consider spending more time at the hostel in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your review, enjoy Picton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a Fantastic Hostel, very clean and tidy, the staff are wonderful, extremely helpful and go that extra mile for you. I stayed here for a few weeks and it has such a welcoming atmosphere. The kitchen and bathroom areas are kept very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The BBQ on Thursday is a great way to socialize too, well worth staying in. I have stayed in a lot of hostels in OZ and NZ and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcBride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review and pleased you enjoyed our live entertainment! all the best with your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The best hostel in Christchurch!!! I love this hostel, it feels like home for me.
The hostel is very clean, the kitchen has everything you need and more, it is well situated and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
On a thursday night they have a bbq with live music and great atmosphere. The internet is the best i've had out of 4 different hostels i've stayed in. i have travelled and stayed in different places but in Christchurch this is the only hostel for me and i'm always happy to return and made very welcome when i do.
i thank the owner and all the staff for making me feel at home away from home!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the double room and different dorms and they all very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerJohnWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for your great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 145 in Christchurch
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 103 in Christchurch
200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 103 in Christchurch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Around the World Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Around the World Backpackers

Property: Around the World Backpackers
Address: 314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Around the World Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest hostels on the planet...Around the World Backpackers provides a sanctuary from loud, large hostels. Our 36 bed hostel is approx. 10 Min walk to the Restart Mall, and to the Intercity bus depot. A great place to meet people from all around the world! Kick back, relax and stay awhile. •FREE Internet •FREE unlimited WIFI •FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking •FREE herbs (and whatever is growing in the garden)•FREE SKY TV - Movies and Sport•FREE DVDs to view•FREE phone for local Christchurch calls and national 0800 numbers•FREE off street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Around the World Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing