We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made bread!! This place is special”
Review of KIWI basecamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hostel, tonnes of character and a great standard of cleanliness, love and care in everything these guys do.

Simple delights to be enjoyed like home made bread every morning with a selection of butter, jams and Vegemite!! Premo! Best to enjoy it out side in the sun as it rises.

The owner plays in a sexy little bar (wunderbar) almost every Tuesday it's an open mic in a proper kiwi style bar it's got real character, you must go! Enough people together and they should use their shuttle bus for $5!

Yep well run, good job!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis85mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here a few nights and it was all decent but not mind-blowing. Fresh baked bread in the morning was the best part. We stayed in a double room and it was fine for our needs. The pillows were thin and flimsy but the bed itself was comfy. If you're not picky, you won't go wrong staying here. The Wi-Fi is really expensive for poor value, so if internet access matters to you I wouldnt stay here. Staff is friendly and helpful which is always nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night and took their complementary transport to hostel. Chris the owner himself drove me to his hostel. After checking in , he showed me around his great hostel. Great place to stay with kitchen and clean rooms and toilet. Also walking distance to Botanical Gardens. As I had a early morning flight to Sydney, they booked for me Steve Shuttle for only $15. Would definitely stay here again when I am back to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I read a few reviews here and there and was very disappointed. I went there twice, becuause I relied on these reviews.

The young brunette receptionist was very unfriendly, rude and was in a bad mood both times I checked in. The owner/manager seemed really nice though.

There are two always clean very small, not very well equipped kitchens. The free breakfast is very poor and the self baked bread not tasty at all. Also it is definitely not enough for all guests, which should be if you are advertising it like they do.

The bathrooms and toilets are enough, but need renovations, not one of them has a plug for a hairdryer. You have to dry your hair in your dorm (what if everyone else is still sleeping?).

The two different dorms I stayed in were clean, but very small and crammed. The beds were shaking with every move my bed buddies made and the duvet cover was dirty (you get a sheet, but still). not enough plugs, especially, if you have to use them also for drying your hair... Some were even falling off the wall.

There is one washing machine and dryer for guests, which is also used by the staff for the bedding etc. Very inconvenient.

On one of the weekends was a party till late, even though they have a 10pm quiet policy. The night manager/ receptionist just stopped people running in and outside the dorms, when I woke her up. Then she was very strict, though.

In general the Hostel is very clean, but needs to be looked more looked after, the dorms should to be uncrammed and a new receptionist needs to be employed.
The other guests were nice and because everything is so small, you find friends quite quick.
The outside deck is very cosy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1981Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Had a private room - it was ok but the mattress was terrible! Kitchen wasn't very clean but the free breakfast was great! Homemade bread was amazing!

Staff were very friendly, helpful and pointed us in the direction of where we wanted to go!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWard126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Because of the earthquakes, hostels are few and far between in CC now so make sure you book well In advance for any if you're flying out of there.
We turned up (booked the hostel a week in advance) and there was no room for us :/ so we had to PAY half price to sleep on the couch - had no sleep as it was a Saturday night and everyone was partying, I was then there 3 more nights and had to move rooms twice.
The hostel was run down. No atmosphere. Very difficult to meet people.
But if you're only there for a night or so to wait for your flight then a bed is all you need :)

Room Tip: Book well in advance to make sure you get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claret29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked this place back in January as it was cheap and had a free shuttle service. Travelled halfway around the world to find that it had been cancelled in May... via email... but no-one seemed to know where this email was. Anyway, I had not cancelled it but they had. Staff member was friendly and offered to phone for other accommodation. Would not trust to use this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheBob623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#21 of 108 in Christchurch
215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#32 of 108 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 108 in Christchurch
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#13 of 108 in Christchurch
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $34 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing