We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of KIWI basecamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I chose this place because it has a free transport service from/to the airport, which is surely nice.
Receptionists are friendly enough. That's why two stars.
However, as for the facility itself, I will never recommend this to others.
- The doors are heavy and they literally bang when closing, unless you're aware of it and close them very carefully. The bang is so big that the whole building shakes.
- The hostel is facing a main road. Even with the windows closed, you can clearly hear the traffic noise all night.
- Room i stayed was clean, but the bed linens were very old and they smelled!!!!

I paid for a private room because I knew I was going to be tired after a long trip and I wanted to have a quiet sleep. Because of all the factors above, I could not sleep at all. At one point my body was really itchy. I thought it's got bed bugs. Maybe it was not bed bugs, but it just smelled so bad that I almost guessed so.

There is another backpackers just 50m away. I stayed there too and it was really nice, clean, and quiet. It doesnt have transport service to the airport, but you can always take public bus which only costs $7.5 as opposed to $50 taxi which is written in Kiwi basecamp website, as if taxi is the only way to get there. I think it's not worth staying here to just save the $7.5 bus fee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    20
    20
    17
See reviews for
9
31
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in a dorm. The dorm was great but the kitchen and bathrooms were filthy. There aren't nearly enough toilets or showers to facilitate the number of rooms. The locks on the bathroom doors are pretty unreliable and the code for the front door didn't work for me! The staff were friendly but not as knowledgeable as you'd expect. Definitely falls short for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cmarcol673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Kiwi Basecamp is busy from day to night as it is located ideally just a few steps from bus stop. The space is not big enough as it always crowded with guests, especially the kitchen. However, I enjoyed to read the newsletter from the manager in every morning while drinking my coffee. He looks cool but his written is warm and good. The most impressive experience in Kiwi Basecamp was met with their owner, Mr Chris, a handsome and friendly middle-age man. He told us not to scare during the mid night aftershock as the gueshouse was built strongly and safely and gave us some help by drove us to postshop. I felt warm and confident, not afraid about the quake anymore. Thanks to Chris and his Kiwi Basecamp.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sannychea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Mix-up with booking and transport from train station. Information given not clear. Earlier enquiries went unanswered.
Rooms clean, but shower was flooded. Kitchen untidy, no milk or sugar for breakfast. Security code for door did not work. Unfortunately this was the worst experience of an otherwise wonderful trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My family & I stayed here for a night before heading back to Kuala Lumpur the next day. There were 5 of us & at $29/person ($145 for 5) we got the entire family room with ensuite bathroom. This is very reasonable (please don't increase!) It fits 6 persons. The very good thing about Kiwi Base Camp is that 1) the owner, Chris is genuinely a nice/cool friendly person 2) freshly baked bread in the morning 3) free shuttle to the airport --> this comes very2 handy when it's a 5 person party. 4) they organize a very good KBC Tour (2x daily) around Christchurch for a very reasonable price ($20 per person) & the friendly+knowledgeable local guide, Alan, is actually a skipper in the Aegean Sea (How cool is that!). Location wise, it's a 15min walk from Naked Bus' drop off point at Canterbury Museum. It's close to Hagley Park & the Avon River (scenic walk to the Museum). Good security, after 8pm, lodgers have to key in access code to enter. Sleep quality: Good, it's a quiet neighborhood. Suggestions: 1) Window/Glass door in family room not so clean (get the boys' to do some wiping) 2) Curtain at room entrance/door need to be long enough to completely draw close (for privacy). 3) enforce all lodgers to wash their plates & utensils after meal (wash & wipe dry). Recommendation: I definitely recommend this place to all travelers; family, couple & singles & look forward to crash in when I visit Christchurch in the near future.

Room Tip: The family room is a good room for those travelling in party of 4 & above. It fits 6 persons. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Spent there just one night, everything was good.
No problems with the late check in (after midnight), bedrooms are spacious and warm, all the facilities are clean and tidy. The hostel is small and I had the feeling of beeing in a small happy family.
In the morning after a free breackfast I also had a FREE ride to the campervan hire center, close to the airport.
The place is quiet, perfect for a good sleep, and the staff is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ote81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Overall this place is not too bad. The dorms were a good size, not too crammed. Kitchen was small but clean and tidy. The free breakfast seemed to be first come served although I couldn't figure out when they started serving it. Staff were quite helpful on arrival. Location isn't ideal, maybe 15 mins to the city centre but thats closed off and quite far from a supermarket. It is close to the library though where you can get free wi-fi. The best thing about this place is probably the fact you get a free shuttle to the airport included in your room rate which makes it a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsten87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 111 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#27 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#6 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Property: KIWI basecamp
Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing