We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”
Review of KIWI basecamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Mix-up with booking and transport from train station. Information given not clear. Earlier enquiries went unanswered.
Rooms clean, but shower was flooded. Kitchen untidy, no milk or sugar for breakfast. Security code for door did not work. Unfortunately this was the worst experience of an otherwise wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 155 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

My family & I stayed here for a night before heading back to Kuala Lumpur the next day. There were 5 of us & at $29/person ($145 for 5) we got the entire family room with ensuite bathroom. This is very reasonable (please don't increase!) It fits 6 persons. The very good thing about Kiwi Base Camp is that 1) the owner, Chris is genuinely a nice/cool friendly person 2) freshly baked bread in the morning 3) free shuttle to the airport --> this comes very2 handy when it's a 5 person party. 4) they organize a very good KBC Tour (2x daily) around Christchurch for a very reasonable price ($20 per person) & the friendly+knowledgeable local guide, Alan, is actually a skipper in the Aegean Sea (How cool is that!). Location wise, it's a 15min walk from Naked Bus' drop off point at Canterbury Museum. It's close to Hagley Park & the Avon River (scenic walk to the Museum). Good security, after 8pm, lodgers have to key in access code to enter. Sleep quality: Good, it's a quiet neighborhood. Suggestions: 1) Window/Glass door in family room not so clean (get the boys' to do some wiping) 2) Curtain at room entrance/door need to be long enough to completely draw close (for privacy). 3) enforce all lodgers to wash their plates & utensils after meal (wash & wipe dry). Recommendation: I definitely recommend this place to all travelers; family, couple & singles & look forward to crash in when I visit Christchurch in the near future.

Room Tip: The family room is a good room for those travelling in party of 4 & above. It fits 6 persons. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Spent there just one night, everything was good.
No problems with the late check in (after midnight), bedrooms are spacious and warm, all the facilities are clean and tidy. The hostel is small and I had the feeling of beeing in a small happy family.
In the morning after a free breackfast I also had a FREE ride to the campervan hire center, close to the airport.
The place is quiet, perfect for a good sleep, and the staff is kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ote81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Overall this place is not too bad. The dorms were a good size, not too crammed. Kitchen was small but clean and tidy. The free breakfast seemed to be first come served although I couldn't figure out when they started serving it. Staff were quite helpful on arrival. Location isn't ideal, maybe 15 mins to the city centre but thats closed off and quite far from a supermarket. It is close to the library though where you can get free wi-fi. The best thing about this place is probably the fact you get a free shuttle to the airport included in your room rate which makes it a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsten87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hostel was ideally situated on Beasley Road, about a 4 minute walk from where I was dropped off by the bus, and when I got on the bus the following day, the lady at reception was nice and a fellow Tottenham fan, the Internet room was very small, and the shower room light didn't work, so had to shower with the door ajar, the room was basic, but the top bunk was so high, I thought I was gonna get a nose bleed, otherwise, I'd would stay here again, just for the location of the bus stop.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planetglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Me and 4 of my friends stayed here twice, once before starting our road trip from christchurch and once when we ended it there. Both the time for single night. The location seemed to be fine, i dunno coz christchurch was almost dead and we hardly manage to do anything but roam around on deserted roads. The lady at the reception were "just there", not much info exchanged. The property is really nice, has a backyard where you can sit and have a barbecue if you want. The rooms were nice too. We stayed upstairs. My only concern was the toilet and bathroom's latch didn't work, so lot of surprises while you are taking a dump or a shower. The women with us were not very happy about it. When we told the reception, they didn't show any concern. Just a shrug. I was amazed to see, even though people may say its a backpacker's hostel, but what does it take to ask someone to repair it. I actually was amazed to see it in the same state when we returned to stay there after 12 days when we finished our road trip, that it was still not repaired.
Maybe i was expecting too much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debarchan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The sort of hostel that will confirm your booking in advance, take a payment and then have your booking mysteriously disappear when you arrive at midnight - with no other options to stay in around Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinhDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 108 in Christchurch
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#21 of 108 in Christchurch
217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#31 of 108 in Christchurch
69 reviews
1 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#12 of 108 in Christchurch
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $24 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing