We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel with good staff”
Review of KIWI basecamp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good hostel with good staff”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here in a 5 bed dorm for a night. The girl at check-in was very helpful. The room was nice and had lockers to store valuables. There are two kitchens and some free spices and food.

The free breakfast is good, with freshly made bread. The common room is big but smelt a bit funny. They have a nice area outside with two tables.

The shared bathroom facilities were clean but they could do with more than 2 toilets.

When we were having breakfast the owner came to chat with us for a while and was very nice, explaining to us what happened during the earthquake and how it affected the city.

The location is good, a few blocks from the main centre which has been closed off. There are several restaurants around and the Botanical Gardens are a ten minute walk away. They have a supermarket run each evening which is great as the two supermarkets are on the other side of town.

You can leave your bag in the hallway after check-out but it gets a bit crowded.

The free airport drop off is very useful too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    20
    20
    17
See reviews for
9
33
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just back from NZ and stayed 2 nights there. Both the 2 staff (a lady from Brighton and another night shift guy) are extremely helpful. Sorry I didn't get your names but I think you know who you are. It is located near to the Cathedral Square (but it is closed due to the earthquake) and the Botanical Gardens. Cool place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hianyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very friendly staff. Free airport drop off during reception hours - 8am to 8pm. Free shuttle to and from the grocery store in the evenings. Not too far from the city centre. Rooms are spacious. Kithcens a bit on the small side as is the TV room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was the worst hostel we stayed in during a month trip around New Zealand. It is clearly busy, as there are very few places to stay in Christchurch, but I don't believe that is an excuse for how dirty the hostel was. After our room had been cleaned (we arrived early, so the room had yet to be cleaned, which is fair enough) there were still dirty emply glasses and bottles under my bed. There was only half a curtain, so light came in the window. The kitchen, bathroom and other communal areas were also unclean. We went out on arrival and stayed out for as long as possible. Was an ok base for one night, but I was glad not to be staying longer. One positive was the free transfer to the airport the next afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamelia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrived with not very high expectation after reading some bad reviews on this site. When we arrived, the receptionist informed us that there will be a free city tour in the morning/afternoon as they are having renovations in the backpackers and would probably like to keep people out (not too sure) and we thought it was such a good thought!! Our double room was of a good size and comes with a closet. Breakfast is provided every morning and we really loved it as the jams are always replenished. There are 2 kitchens (one on the ground floor and the second on the 1st floor). They were having renovations in the upper kitchen so we only had the lower kitchen to use but it was not crowded and there was enough utensils. They provide free airport shuttle supermarket shuttle and free hot drinks, which i thought was so thoughtful. I like how they have their own daily 'newsletter'. Our stay for 3 nights in kiwibasecamp was very comfortable and it exceeded my expectation. If there is one complaint, it will be the squeeky doors. But everything else was just good. I have previously stayed in one other backpacker at Bealey avenue and kiwibasecamp is definitely much better (at the same price) and i ll defnitely come here again for my next visit. Internet is not free but very fast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keiliiliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

At our arrival, we were impressed by the cosyness of this hostel. We were greeted by very friendly staff at the reception, who helped us out pretty well. The room (double, upstairs) was good; clean and lots of space (biggest room we've seen in 10 weeks NZ) to put the backpacks and even a closet to hang our clothes. Toilet and shower just outside our room, also clean and comfortable to use.
In the evening there is a supermarketshuttle. One of the staff drives a van to the supermarket to allow everyone to grab supplies. This same van can pick you up and drop you off at the airport (very good service!) so there is always a friendly face to pick you up and it is all for free.
The two kitchens are great places to cook meals and meet up with fellow travellers. We've spent a lot of time there and had an amazing time. In the morning breakfast is served in the kitchen downstairs. They bake their own bread, fresh every day and it is delicious and very welcome after a good, long sleep!
In fact, we have enjoyed KIWI Basecamp so well, that we have stayed there two times, for a total of 6 nights to see some more of Christchurch. Why did we come back? We loved the place, the staff, the facilities, the rooms and the breakfast! This place is recommendable to every backpacker!

Christchurch is not such a bad place to visit, so if you have the time, stay there for a while. We would recommend the Alpine Express from Christchurch to Greymouth and back again. You will have a great view on the Arthur's Pass and it is a wonderful way to spend your day. Next to this, Christchurch has a lot to offer; this is all displayed on a very big wall at KIWI Basecamp, so be sure not to miss this!

So thanks again, KIWI Basecamp, we have had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Sanne0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in this hostel for a couple of days. As we just flew in from the UK, we were trying to find our feet and get over jetlag. We stayed in the same room as the woman who wrote the previous review. I must say that we had a lovely time in the hostel, which was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, picking us up from the airport etc. The hostel had a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.The kitchen was always clean and breakfast was provided by the staff! We slept well most of the time, and when we didn't, it was because of jetlag, not because of other travellers doing the horizontal mambo...! I hope this review can un-do some of the damage caused by false claims of unhappy travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 103 in Christchurch
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#11 of 103 in Christchurch
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#29 of 103 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Property: KIWI basecamp
Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing