We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a culinary delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Octagon Live - CLOSED

Octagon Live
Cuisines: New Zealand, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
los angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a culinary delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

i stumbled across this restaurant and decided to give it a try. what a find! great food, excellent service and live entertainment! all nicely done.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and music but service in need of attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Moving the music from the background to the main event is a clever idea and it comes off well. There are no challenges to middlebrow tastes and Gershwin, Lloyd-Weber and the Beatles are preferred to Bach and Boulez but management have not learned much about keeping diners happy. If you wait 40 minutes to get a drink and the menus you might not be in the best mood for food or music. That said the food is good modern New Zealand with a wine list to match. The converted church, having survivied the 'quake more or less intact, is a fine venue and eating to the tunes of the great organ is probably a unique experience. Recommended to patient musical gastronomes.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

The idea here is to combine great food and music in one setting. The food and wine were good and I particularly liked the pianist who was performing that night - effortless.

The spin is all the staff are musicians and you can tell. The way the wine was poured would make professional cringe. I also could not lose the feeling that I was eating in my local village hall, due to the setting and the décor hasn't been altered too much. I am sure some would find this charming and my dining partner certainly did.

I am being picky and it was a fine evening and I would not hesitate to recommend dining here, I am sure when it is to capacity and in full swing would be a great night. The only thing that remains is to lose the random hats.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hodgy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

This was a wonderful experience both food and music. Both had the tasting plate for starters, the 4 bone rack lamb mains(me) and Beef Wellington (hubbie), cheese plate (hubbie) and Choc Mouse(me), pianist played and sang as did our waitress. The night was topped off with an organist playing the organ that dates back to the 1800's. The whole "event" was just sooo special, I have no hesitation in saying, do yourself a favour and book a table.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best dining experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Dinner at the Octagon last night would have to be our most memorable dining experience. They have raised the bar to new heights for us. There were seven of us in our party and we had taken our elderly father out to dinner. From the moment of being warmly greeted outside by the maitre dit through to having a special request attended to, we felt more like honoured guests than clientele.

The food is excellent, especially the Beef Wellington. But what makes this place exceptional is the atmosphere of the old church and the musical auditioning of the waitstaff. All of the waitstaff are accomplished classical musicians and we were treated to brilliantly played classical pieces and themes from popular musicals throughout the evening. One of them even played an excerpt from Phantom of the Opera on the 1400 pipe organ still in residence. Our special request of "Ave Maria" for our father was met by two waitstaff - a pianist and mezo soprano at concert level standard. There were few dry eyes afterwards!

There was nothing too much that could be done for us, and it was done with both grace and class. We noted that another guest had wine accidentally spilt on her jacket. Within an hour this had been drycleaned and discretely returned to her.

If a restaurant could be rated six stars I would be giving the Octagon such a rating.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HFTNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octagon Live also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing