We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Christchurch
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
108
42
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
42
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riverside market popular with tour groups front desk staff were very friendly valet parking cathedral square huge room damaged cathedral rain shower big earthquake every amenity walking distance corner room breakfast buffet is rooms are spacious this lovely hotel lobby area nice toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 166 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Our family of five recently traveled New Zealand and stayed at nine different hotels, from mid-range chains to boutiques and cottages, from luxury to budget. Every one of us, considering the value, put this Distinction at the top of our list. The location is outstanding – we were able to walk to parks, including the gigantic Edge New Year’s Eve celebration at Hayley Park, the indoor market, the river, and the Quake Museum. Our room was absolutely humongous, with plenty of room for all five of us, and exceptionally comfortable. There was not one imaginable toiletry missing from the bathroom. It was really outstanding. Moreover they had a laundry room on the first floor. But what was truly exceptional was when we discovered we left a load of our laundry at the hotel, they neatly folded it and wrapped it and sent it to us at our last hotel stop to New Zealand. What service!
My only minor complaint was that the morning after New Year’s Eve, they closed breakfast at 10 o’clock sharp. And I mean really sharp. That was difficult because the partying (noise) really didn’t stop in the city until about 1 AM so it was a little unrealistic to expect us all to get downstairs much earlier. A lot of people were dragging in late and staff was a bit irritated to serve even a limited menu. I would tweak that for next year if I were them. Otherwise an outstanding stay, for an amazing price, and the ONLY place we will stay in Christchurch.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ready2wander03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We stayed here for 3 nights on the 10th floor. Our first room was next to the lift and the noise of the lifts was a slight annoyance so decided to comment to reception on whether they could provide earplugs. They moved us later that day to another room which was amazing. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff should be commended.We loved the location, easy walk to new Riverside market complex and surrounding area. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dchgsm, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear nakiboys,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry to read that you were disturbed by noise from the lift, but I’m thrilled to read that our team were able to remedy this for you! Thank you also for your amazing comments about our rooms. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We stayed two nights at the Distinction Hotel. From our twin bed superior room on the 10th floor we had a nice city view, down to the Cathedral directly underneath the window and far enough to see the Hagley Park fireworks.

The room was spacious and nicely furnished, the bathroom had a rain shower, the beds had firm mattresses, and despite the hotel's central location the room was quiet.

The hotel is popular with tour groups and the breakfast buffet can be busy. But the attentive staff provided for a quick refill whenever necessary and also cleared the tables promptly.

With lots of restaurants nearby we did not have dinner at the hotel. We went to the bar twice. It seems that they have live music occasionally...

Shops, museums and the Botanical Gardens are at walking distance. And there is a tram stop around the corner.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hermann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dchgsm, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear Hermann M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to read your positive comments about our rooms, location and breakfast. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We kicked off our honeymoon staying at this hotel as a transit point before starting our journey. Virgin Australia lost our bags for nearly 48 hours (I am learning that this is not uncommon for them coming to CHC on a connecting flight... thumbs down). The staff at Distinction were all over it in case our bags miraculously appeared, we didn't have to tell each of them starting shift the deal because they actually communicate amongst themselves. They were understanding and willing to accept our bags even if they showed up after we checked out and had left CHC. Durong our stay they continuously offered us toiletry supplies to keep us going. Very appreciative!
The bed was devine, we were in a cloud. The rooms were incredibly clean.
They gym was definetely a standard hotel gym (but better than nothing) and while there is aircon, a fan to circulate the air wouldn't hurt. Personally I am not a fan of bath showers, and my husband is 6.4 with the showerhead sitting below his chin.
Overall a pleasant experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HoneymoonerMJK2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dchgsm, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear HoneymoonerMJK2020,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So happy to read that our team were able to help you in your time of need! I hope you managed to get re-united with your luggage! By your description of the bathroom it sounds like you were staying in our Classic Rooms. They have a shower over bath, but our Superior Rooms have Walk-In Rain showers which would most likely be more comfortable for your husband should you stay with us again. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

The staff here were great! Always greatest us with a smile and asked if there was anything they could do for us.
The only real reason for the 4/5 is that while in the pictures the lobby etc looks nice and fresh, our room was tired and in desperate need of attention.

Location was great. Walkable distance to most things and plenty of Lime Scooters around the place too for those bigger distances and faster trips.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank arronk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dchgsm, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear arronk2015,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad to read that you found are staff great. They will be thrilled to hear that feedback! I’m sorry to read that you found your room tired and in need of attention. I have sent you a Private Message regarding this. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews