We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Night Out!”
Review of St Germain

St Germain
Ranked #26 of 977 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: St Germain was opened in September 2008 by French brothers Frederic and Vincent. Born and raised in Brittany, the brothers aim to provide you a real French dining experience using local products in an elegant and cosy atmosphere. St Germain's diversity makes it the perfect place to enjoy food and wine, whether you would like to share a fabulous meal with friends, for a romantic dinner, or when dining with a larger group. We can cater for all.
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Night Out!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was our second option, now very pleased our first option was booked. Staff looked after us from the time we arrived. Enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar. Menu was explained and advice was given on wine as we were not familiar with the French options. Fantastic night and we would make this a regular dinning option if we lived locally.

Helpful?
Thank celery2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    61
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous! ”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Made a booking here this morning for dinner the same night without any trouble. Staff were amazingly helpful and even helped me with a "birthday dessert platter".
Food was fabulous! Very accommodating with gluten free requirements. Service was impeccable and couldn't fit another mouthful in by the of the meal.
Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank GlutenFreeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My fourth time here in both locations and a welcome reminder of deliciousness on my doorstep. Was cosy, each course very good, as was the service, good wine selection - yummo Alsatian Gewurz & nice to see a restaurant humming with guests. I think the pricing was very fair & all our dishes deemed pretty delectable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice to try once”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice ambience although it's a small dinning area, good food. An excellent place to have a birthday/date. Main courses weren't impressive, but I liked the entrees and desserts. We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. Service were good, but not warmly enough, maybe my expectation were too high :P

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great French food”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for French food, with good staff and ambience. In general the meals are a good size but the French onion soup is a very large meal. There is a good French wine list, a fair selection by the glass, and very good advice as to food matching. Price is good with mains about $35 entrees $18-$25 and desserts about $15. All in all a very pleasant dinning experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Germain also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to St Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing