We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but small areas for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but small areas for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

On the whole friendly staff and nice rooms.
My one concern is with the fitness facilities - the machines are cheap, and nearly unuseable. To try running on the treadmills is dangerous as the tread stops erratically when you use them. the rower is rubbish and the exercycle was broken. The cyclic runner bolts were loose and it felt as if it could fall apart at any moment. No free-weights. If you were looking for a little exercise in the hotel there isn't much available.
The rest of it was good though. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bashies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    715
    236
    71
    22
See reviews for
178
786
120
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Look - good and bad. But as managment wouldnt you want your hotel to be great????
The position is terrific, you can walk out the door and access everything you need.
The rooms are clean and bathrooms and showers excellent. Beds comfortable, cupboard doors annoying especially if they dont shut properly so the automatic light inside stays on ...but these are minor details - its good value.

So what went wrong ?
Valet parking offered $15 a day - good value.
Room I first got was a Twin ...but meant to be deluxe - and upgrade if possible. The room was tiny ...one of teh 05 configuration and had a view into a back alley. The hotel was not full infact far from it and it was New Years day - I rang down and asked for a better room - and was moved without any hastle - great.

The in room menu offers massage or beauty treatments - I was told by the manager he had never done this before - he tried a number and didnt get anyone so gave up and gave me a brochure ....mmmm

My mum arrived at 12.30=1/.00am and the person on duty couldnt locate me. Said there was noone in the hotel by our common name. after 15-20 minutes - he said "you look" she did and found it straight away.

Fire Alarm at 6.15am

Day two fine
Day three .... breakfast/food ...oh public holiday no room service after 11.00am as restaurant closed (!!!) Message in our room would have been nice - just to keep your guests in the loop. House keeping offered the Breakie Bap/Juice?Coffee combo - we thought great ! I specified Apple Juice as I cant have orange juice.
Service was quick .... 2 x Orange Juices(!) ...2 baps warm to the touch frozen inside.
Yuck!

Then the classic - my Mum went to call our car up. They couldnt find it. I was called in the room and essentially given the third degree by some woman on duty. Who did you give the key to? Sorry we dont have it. Are you sure? HELLO???? I felt like I had done something wrong. ... as it turned out it was listed under my first room ....and that was my fault because.....??? You dont communicate between shifts? You dont know what room your guests are in? My mother also felt that this girl was a bit out of line.

I have to say this ...when does the problem become the guest's ? Only if it is really and honestly their fault. And only once you have exhausted your patience...and attempts to go out of your way to help them......but even then be very sure. I apprecciate travellers are impatient and rude ...but I can tell you I am not one of those people and neither is my 74 year old mother.

Marque ...your staff let you down. Not your facility.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapowaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write and alert us to the disappointments that you experienced when staying at the Marque Christchurch recently.

I would like to offer my apologies for the problems you encountered in regards to your room and your vehicle. You make a valid point and we will be looking into improving our communication and processes. These types of incidents should simply not occur like this. I have spoken with my Front Office Manager and discussed these issues in detail; I have every reason to believe that she will pursue them most vigorously. As a result of your communication all staff have undergone training on our spa services and booking system. I apologise for the lack of communication regarding holiday services and the errors with your food.

Once again I would like to extend my apologies for our staff & procedures letting down through our service delivery. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel. I trust that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the standard of service we normally pride ourselves upon.

Sincerely,
The Marque Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Really great location in the heart of Christchurch. Easy walking for everything we wanted to do - gardens, museums, restaurants, shopping etc. The room was small, but new and clean, with a great shower. As said in the title, the continental breakfast was far too good to even want the full cooked, and room service wasn't bad either. The only extra I would have wanted was Wifi in the room, but we did like the i-dock!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath_Sewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

200 metres from Cathedral Square and with reasonable rooms at affordable prices, the Marque is certainly one to consider, but would not be our first choice in Christchurch (if you get the right offers, Rydges or The Heritage would be our preference) . Though The Marque's rooms are very new, our wardrobe doors stuck repeatedly (could be earthquake damage, in which case sorry to be so picky) and the rooms were not so spacious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toolamba, victoria
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

This was our first night in NZ after our wedding and we were really just looking for somewhere comfortable to stay not too far from the Christchurch bar/restaurant scene. We were very satisfied with the cleanliness and the comfort of our room. We found it to be great value, and the service was quite good too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Now, after reading the other great reviews complimenting the staff's hospitality, I must be quite unlucky to have encountered one or two black sheep of the staff during my stay with a very different experience.

These were my encounters:
1) To be fair, check in was good. Smooth and quick. We were also told what we need to know eg free 3 hours wifi, where breakfast is, where we could grab a couple of drinks etc.

2) Unfortunately, we were not told that this is a strictly non-smoking hotel and that smoking in rooms will cause a fine of NZ$300. Apparently, the staff said that it's mentioned on the hotel's website etc but it must be have been quite inconspicuous if so. It was also not mentioned in the booking forms and other more apparent mediums - not everyone made bookings through the hotel's website now with plenty booking engines around. Point being, if this is such a big deal, and if the staff could take the time to tell us about the free wifi, where to have breakfast etc, it wouldn't hurt to remind guests about their non-smoking policy upon check in yes?
Nonetheless, we recognize it's a mistake on our part and understand that we need to pay a fine (which they "reduced" to NZ$100 for "cleaning fees" even though no apparent cleaning, in the room or ventilation was noticed). It was the staff's delivery of this news and handling of the matter that was much to be desired.
My dad, a 65 year old man, was told off by a 20-30 year old girl at the reception about smoking in the room like a 5 year old child who stole cookies from the cookie jar. She could have exercised a lot more tact and respect. We were guests after all.
I wonder if our "holiday" (read: relaxed and perhaps, a little shabby to some) dress code had anything to do with it. But then again, we ARE on holiday and we ARE paying guests.

3) Last encounter (thank God). It was 10.15pm. I needed wifi password. I called the reception and must have been on hold for 20 minutes. No exaggeration. My brother who was in the lobby, came up to the room and saw that i was on the phone, said "oh, so you are the one making the phone ring non-stop. don't bother, there's no one at the reception anyway". How can the reception counter be unmanned for a good 20 minutes? 10.15pm is not peak hour but certainly not late enough to assume that all guests are asleep and thus, no need for service!
When finally someone picked up the phone, i said "Thank God, I'm from room XXX and I've been holding for 20 minutes for the reception to tell my a wifi pass word!" to which I got a reply "I'm from reception and have been trying for the last 10 minutes to call a cab. this hotel sucks!". Wow, that coming from a staff of the hotel?!?

Anyhows, the rest of the hotel is fine, location, rooms, cleanliness etc. So if you don't require much service, i guess The Marque is a good choice. Otherwise, be warned that not each and every of the staff there have the same high service standards that others have been raving about.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write and alert us to the disappointments that you experienced when staying at the Marque Christchurch recently.

I would like to offer my apologies for the problems you encountered in regards to communication of smoking in our rooms and our response to answering phones. You make a valid point and we will be looking into improving our communication. These types of incidents should simply not occur like this. I have spoken with my Front Office Manager and discussed these issues in detail; I have every reason to believe that she will pursue them most vigorously.

Once again I would like to extend my apologies for our staff & procedures letting down through our service delivery. I trust that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the standard of service we normally pride ourselves upon.

Sincerely,
The Marque Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed here mid November and really enjoyed it.
I wish I had known about the bus mentioned by the previous reviewer - it cost me $20 to use the SuperShuttle to get there from the airport :(

The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and right bang in the centre of everything. The tram stops right outside for those of you too lazy to walk the few hundred yards into the square!
The rooms yes are on the small side, but who goes on holiday to stay in their room?
The receptionist was really nice and she couldnt do enough to help me on check in.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clank007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing