We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, pity about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel, pity about the staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Now, after reading the other great reviews complimenting the staff's hospitality, I must be quite unlucky to have encountered one or two black sheep of the staff during my stay with a very different experience.

These were my encounters:
1) To be fair, check in was good. Smooth and quick. We were also told what we need to know eg free 3 hours wifi, where breakfast is, where we could grab a couple of drinks etc.

2) Unfortunately, we were not told that this is a strictly non-smoking hotel and that smoking in rooms will cause a fine of NZ$300. Apparently, the staff said that it's mentioned on the hotel's website etc but it must be have been quite inconspicuous if so. It was also not mentioned in the booking forms and other more apparent mediums - not everyone made bookings through the hotel's website now with plenty booking engines around. Point being, if this is such a big deal, and if the staff could take the time to tell us about the free wifi, where to have breakfast etc, it wouldn't hurt to remind guests about their non-smoking policy upon check in yes?
Nonetheless, we recognize it's a mistake on our part and understand that we need to pay a fine (which they "reduced" to NZ$100 for "cleaning fees" even though no apparent cleaning, in the room or ventilation was noticed). It was the staff's delivery of this news and handling of the matter that was much to be desired.
My dad, a 65 year old man, was told off by a 20-30 year old girl at the reception about smoking in the room like a 5 year old child who stole cookies from the cookie jar. She could have exercised a lot more tact and respect. We were guests after all.
I wonder if our "holiday" (read: relaxed and perhaps, a little shabby to some) dress code had anything to do with it. But then again, we ARE on holiday and we ARE paying guests.

3) Last encounter (thank God). It was 10.15pm. I needed wifi password. I called the reception and must have been on hold for 20 minutes. No exaggeration. My brother who was in the lobby, came up to the room and saw that i was on the phone, said "oh, so you are the one making the phone ring non-stop. don't bother, there's no one at the reception anyway". How can the reception counter be unmanned for a good 20 minutes? 10.15pm is not peak hour but certainly not late enough to assume that all guests are asleep and thus, no need for service!
When finally someone picked up the phone, i said "Thank God, I'm from room XXX and I've been holding for 20 minutes for the reception to tell my a wifi pass word!" to which I got a reply "I'm from reception and have been trying for the last 10 minutes to call a cab. this hotel sucks!". Wow, that coming from a staff of the hotel?!?

Anyhows, the rest of the hotel is fine, location, rooms, cleanliness etc. So if you don't require much service, i guess The Marque is a good choice. Otherwise, be warned that not each and every of the staff there have the same high service standards that others have been raving about.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write and alert us to the disappointments that you experienced when staying at the Marque Christchurch recently.

I would like to offer my apologies for the problems you encountered in regards to communication of smoking in our rooms and our response to answering phones. You make a valid point and we will be looking into improving our communication. These types of incidents should simply not occur like this. I have spoken with my Front Office Manager and discussed these issues in detail; I have every reason to believe that she will pursue them most vigorously.

Once again I would like to extend my apologies for our staff & procedures letting down through our service delivery. I trust that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the standard of service we normally pride ourselves upon.

Sincerely,
The Marque Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    716
    236
    71
    22
See reviews for
181
787
120
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed here mid November and really enjoyed it.
I wish I had known about the bus mentioned by the previous reviewer - it cost me $20 to use the SuperShuttle to get there from the airport :(

The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and right bang in the centre of everything. The tram stops right outside for those of you too lazy to walk the few hundred yards into the square!
The rooms yes are on the small side, but who goes on holiday to stay in their room?
The receptionist was really nice and she couldnt do enough to help me on check in.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clank007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Everyone is right, great hotel with wifi complimentary for 3 hours a day. Clean, excellent staff and for us they were kind enough to let us in the room early. Great after a long flight. A tip if coming from the airport, use the No 10 public bus and ask to be put off at the corner of Colunbo St/Gloucester St. Turn left into Gloucester and the hotel is less than a 3 min walk on the right. Journey could not be easier and currently costs 7.50 dollars.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorthandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thankyou for your great comments. It is great to see that your stay at the Marque Hotel was enjoyable. That our staff were friendly and helpful, and you took advantage of our wifi access.

We do hope to see you again at The Marque Christchurch in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was one of the most enjoyable stays that I have ever had. The staff were excellent and provided impeccable service - they were never too busy to assist. Room was good but a bit on the small side. However, it was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast was good value and again the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Location is hard to beat as it is close to Cathedral Square and right next to Cathedral Junction.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozjamboree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thankyou for your great comment of the Marque Hotel

We are thrilled to see that your stay was enjoyable and that the staff and hotel services meet your expections.

Thankyou. We do hope to see you again at The Marque Christchurch in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

We loved The Marque. In a great location and the staff was the friendliest in all that we stayed in in NZ. Rooms are a bit small, but comfortable, modern, and clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiperJoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thankyou for your great comments about the Marque Hotel.

It is great to see your stay was comfortable and our staff were friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Marque Hotel should you visit our city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here for the first few nights of our NZ trip. I emailed the hotel before we arrived to let them know that we would be arriving quite late (1am) and I got a prompt response saying that wouldn't be a problem.

When we arrived at the hotel at that time, the man behind the counter was quite rude and wouldn't even acknlowedge us ringing the doorbell (the hotel was locked). We had to buzz three times and when he finally opened the door, he just looked at his watch. I gave him the reservation details and he didn't say a single word to us the whole time - just handed us the keys and pointed to the direction of the lift.

The initial encounter was such a shame because for the rest of the time, all the other staff were lovely.

The hotel was nice - rooms a good size. The beds were quite soft and I was worried about how I'd sleep but I slept like a baby! Everything in the room was good except for the minibar nuts that I discovered were out of date once I opened them. I also thought it was weird that they provide shampoo but no conditioner. We left our room at 9am and got back after 3pm and housekeeping had still not been in so we just used the 'do not disturb'.

The bar downstairs seemed quite busy and the hotel was always pretty lively. A good stay if you can get a good rate but there are other hotels that are cheaper with more consistent service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed one night at a really cheap rate, just $135NZD. Our room was lovely, small but very modern. Checkin was efficient if not a little rude. I think they were just busy though. When I asked for a city map it was practically thrown at me without so much as an explanation of where on the map we were.
Free internet for a couple of hours each day, mini bar prices reasonable. We were on the 15th floor with lovely views. There were a lot of cracks in our room and in the halls which I assume were from the earthquake, which did make it a bit nervy staying in this tall building!
Everything was great until we went to bed - the mattress was like a trampoline - way way too soft (and I like a soft mattress) so much so that when my partner moved it felt like a small earthquake!! Drove me batty and kind of ruined our sleep for the night. A real shame cause this is a lovely hotel.
The location is fantastic - right near a tram stop, walking distance to any city attractions. We had dinner on the tram and it was gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing