We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great new addition to the Christchurch skyline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Although still under some repair, Christchurch was very much business as usual while we were there and the Marque provided a very comfortable stay.

The hotel, much like the rest of Christchurch, does have a few cracks here and there but nothing too obvious.

The Deluxe room was reasonably sized with all the usual conveniences. However, the Deluxe was supposedly bigger than a standard room so I dread to think how big a standard room is.

The hotel is situated close to restaurants and most shops are just a block away. Although beware...Christchurch city centre shuts fairly early on a Saturday afternoon so get in early if you need anything.

Pros:
- Great location
- Hotel is quite new and fresh
- Free WIFI (3 hours)
- Modern accessories (eg. iphone/ipod docking station)

Cons:
- No dedicated space to pull up to the hotel (street access only)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimaj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,824 - 1,830 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights the week before the earthquake. We arrived late from Melbourne and were looking forward to a good night's sleep. Unfortunately it took 3 room changes until we actually got the room we had booked. The man at reception was very nice and apologetic but it was clear that he was overwhelming trying to manage the hotel alone that evening (he told us most of the staff had quit).

The location is good only a few minutes walk to the main city centre and the hotel is new and pristine. We got a good deal and so were happy with our stay but if we had been paying full price I don't think we would have been as satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisewoman0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We arrived the Friday evening before the earthquake, ready to "relax" our last few days in NZ. The earthquake was terrifying, but the young man at the front desk kept his cool and helped us all. He brought out boxes of bathrobes--it was a cold night. After a while we were let back into the lobby, escorted to rooms to get necessities, served sandwiches for lunch, etc. The hotel (new construction) held up extremely well despite the magnitude of the quake. Other buildings nearby were red-tagged. The guests were traumatized, but through it all the staff were wonderful, especially Clare, Louise, Jane, and the other young lady whose name escapes me. We all felt fortunate to be there and not elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeandelgado5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Nice hotel in a good location. Rooms were comfortable, nicely presented and clean. Great value with the deal we received.

Only negatives was reception not answering the phone at 11pm, although supposed to have 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We live an hour out of Chrsitchurch and decided to have a night out on the town with friends so instead of driving home in the middle of the night stayed at The Marque. Excellent Hotel, great cental city location,beautiful decor, modern and spotlessly clean. I loved the modern Bathroom and great shower. The Mini Bar was fully stocked and I loved the option of a Full size bottle of wine...We had got some deli bits in the Arts Market and reception was more that happy to bring us side plates and knives to our room. The restaurant looked lovely but we did not eat there but we did order a full breakfast through room service and this was excellent!! The valet parking was a good option as the inner city options are far and few between. I had actually left my handbag in my car after giving it in to be valet parked and had to be taken up to the car park to get it...Wow was an amazing set up...Elevator Parking System...felt bad about them having to move 3 cars to get my bag out...but was so impressed with their system and service. Will definitley stay again

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bec_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager Reservations at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2010

Thank you for your great comments. We are so glad you were able to have a lovely night out and come back to our brand new hotel afterwards for the night. We are always happy to help in any way possible and am pleased that you liked our state of the art car stacker.

We do hope to see you again at The Marque Christchurch in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel was beautiful, brand-new, within walking distance of the heart of the city, and provided exceptional service. The staff was amazing and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. We stayed at 11 different places in NZ and this was the top! Best rates too. They have free internet (wireless) in the lobby and a business lounge with computers which had free internet as well as printing. Free local calls too. The rooms were tastefully decorated. This is a must-stay hotel for any trip to Christchurch! They have a beautiful lobby with a very contemporary fireplace as well. The only draw-back: $15/night for parking. The rates were excellent though. We stayed two nights and LOVED it! Beds and linens were very nice. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisjustfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

From the moment we walked in their front doors to the moment we checked out, this hotel was amazing. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, a great team working well together. The rooms are on the small side, but hey who goes on holiday to sit in their room. The bed & pillows were comfortable and the views from our room (once the weather cleared) were outstanding, we truly could see for miles. If you fancy trying the in room dining, do not hesitate the food is of a high standard and the taste & presentation is top class.

The hotel is just a moments walk from Cathedral Square and an abundance of great place to have a drink and something to eat.

We will be recommending The Marque to friends and family and we will most definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenysKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your great comments regarding The Marque Christchurch.

It is great to see you enjoyed dining at our Fresh Restaurant and Wet Bar, and that our Staff were helpful and friendly. Yes the views are amazing.

KInd Regards
The Marque Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $98 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing