We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high distinction for service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Hawthorn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A high distinction for service”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My best friend and I stayed for one night at the Rendezvous Christchurch and were pleasantly surprised by the high level of service we received.

We flew into Christchurch at 5am, never a great idea! We headed into the city to find our accommodation - slept in the car for a few hours - and the proceeded to the hotel to see if we could leave our bags just before 9am. Much to our amazement, the lovely attendant on duty (i think her name is Tiara) afforded us a very early check in. After braving a Jetstar flight and about 3 hours sleep, we were so very grateful.

The room sufficed for the both of us with nice, modern fixtures, plentiful information and a comfortable bed with amazing pillows! the hotel is central to most of the activities available in Christchurch and I would definitely suggest this hotel as accommodation.

The gym is what we expected - it allows the basics for a cardio session.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Dean,

So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We have passed on your comments to Tayara and the team. We do our best to accommodate early arrivals if at all possible, however this cannot be guarenteed always. Please we could help on this occassion!

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    791
    251
    73
    23
See reviews for
204
852
128
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

After a stay at Christchurch Rendevous for a week on a business trip I was very happy. Rooms are small but for one person they are adequate and bathrooms are quite large and modern. Everything in the room worked as it should, clear and easy to use TV and warm air con unit. Plentiful in room coffee, tea, toiletries, mini bar if you want it. I didn't eat at the restaurant but the room service food was well priced and quite delicious. Wi fi in the rooms is not free but had a glass of wine each night in the lobby bar and checked my emails - a relaxed bar where I didn't feel out of place. Staff are lovely and happy to fix any problem that may arise and housekeeping staff are excellent, very friendly and efficient. Would recommend for business travellers to Christchurch. Enjoy Christchurch, the people are very friendly and happy to talk about their earthquake experience and about what has happened since which I found all extremely interesting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meredith888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Meredith888,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the Rendezvous Christchurch. Im glad you enjoyed the rooms in particular the large bathrooms as well as our In Room Dining options.
The hotel currently has broadband free in the rooms and wireless free in the lobby and bar areas. Pleased you enjoyed a wine and a freindly chat with our staff in the bar area. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is clean and tidy, but its another corporate box, the breakfast is expensive at $30 (When did $30 become and average price for a breakfast), the really sad bit is there is almost nothing left in that part of town. Would i stay there again probably not, and not through any fault of the hotel its just there is nothing around it. There was one bar open and one small restaurant, and one Aisiain restaurant. All in all average and a bit bland,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for the feedback. While the city is still in recovery mode from the 2011 earthquakes, there is now alot more restaurants, bars and activities open within easy walking distance of the hotel. Our reception staff are happy to point guests in the direction of the ever increasing new businesses opening. Our Full breakfast option which includes both Continental and Cooked breakfast options is $29.00, however there are many other less expensive options avaiable. Im sorry you did not enjoy your stay but glad you found it to be clean and tidy.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a small well equipped corner room on the 14th floor with fabulous views over the city, hills and sea. Valet parking and a continental brekky (which we upped to a full) were included in the package deal. Would have been nice if we were allowed out on the balcony but it was their policy not to allow any windows open apparently. Comfy bed, quiet night (well morning by the time we got in), nice shower. All good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Corner Suites have fabulous views although heat up quick when the sun comes in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Gert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

With Rendezvous Hotel being the tallest building in the South Island we have the luxury of offering the best views in town! On a beautiful Winters morning you cannot beat the views from the 14th floor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Many thanks,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I staid there a few times while visiting CHC for 2-day business trips. The rooms are small and functional. The staff is friendly. The bed is comfortable and the breakfast does the job.

I recommend this hotel for a short business trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiKuSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi there,

You are correct, the hotel is perfect for the corporate traveller. The facilities offer you a 'home away from home' with clean, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast to start your day. Im pleased to hear you found the staff friendly also. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Christchurch.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice quiet night. The porter was very helpful the next morning and stored our luggage before an afternoon flight.
My only comment would be at check in if reception pointed out the basics. Eg: where the lifts are (I found the layout confusing), restaurant hours etc.
We had breakfast in a small cafe nearby, there are several outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwiduo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your response.

Our porters at Rendezvous Christchurch are very welcoming and do a great job to assist our guests. My apologies the hotel facilities were not explained clearly upon check in and will ensure the reception team advise all guests coming into the hotel. Our restaurant offers a great range of breakfast options however there are also some great cafes nearby the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a night there at the end of our holiday in NZ. Enjoyed the nice rooms and friendly service. Only downside was paying for parking and our car wasn't even in the secure carpark it spent the night on the driveway. Not really secure!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chey1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear your car however was not parked in our secure parking.....It is possible that our valet brought the car down earlier as this is our holding area when it becomes busy. I shall follow up to ensure this is correct.

Many thanks,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 145 in Christchurch
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 145 in Christchurch
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing