We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #12 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

2nd time I have stayed here...
First time was before the earthquake..
Overnighted here last week ... check in was painless and simple.
The room was modern and tidy.
The bed was very comfortable and slept like a baby
The staff were helpful, the bar and resturant were great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi 'Otagopete'

Great to hear you are a return customer! Thanks for the review and look forward seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

I would not rave about this hotel. While it was ok it was not great and I prefer staying at The Grange B&B when in Christchurch. It is new so rooms nicely decorated. BUT terrible terrible noise in each room due to the way the air con vents are set up. Five of us stayed so five rooms, each with the same TERRIBLE problem of unreasonable loud noise coming from within the air con vent. It reminded me of the noise some elevator shafts make when the lift goes up and down. It is an obvious fault of some sort with the design of this new hotel.

The location is not nice either with it in the construction ghost town part of Christchurch old CBD. I personally did not have a great sleep or enjoy being in a high rise in Christchurch (having been in Christchurch in the Feb 2011 earthquake I just didn't feel safe). I see no reason to want to ever stay here again as there are much better options in Christchurch - I normally stay at The Grange - much better location & set up.

The staff were nice - the room service staff particularly. The food also was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. I am sorry to hear that there were some aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy. We have not had complaints about our air conditioning making this noise previously so will have our engineer look into this to see if there was a fault. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The hotel is situated in the city centre and while this area is part of the ongoing rebuild, we do have many operational attractions right on our door step for guests to enjoy such as New Regent Street, Cathedral Junction and the Tram. I am glad you enjoyed the food and service we provided.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

the first time I stayed at the Rendezvous Hotel I thought I was going to hate it. I always used to stay at a different hotel when I visited Christchurch but since the earthquake the hotel I stayed in did not exist anymore. I loved the Rendezvous Hotel. The staff is friendly, accommodating and always willing to help. The hotel is within walking distance from the city centre and main attractions. this hotel have now become my "go to hotel" whenever I visit Christchurch!

Room Tip: pay the extra $25 per night to get in room wifi, breakfast and ironing of a shirt. well worth the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebMac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for the excellent feedback and glad to hear we have become your 'preferred' accommodation in Christchurch! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is situated in the middle of this lovely city, and signs of the recent devastation abound.
However the attractions are beginning to reappear, with the iconic city centre tram running outside the hotel again. There is a short walk to the beautiful park and rivers, the accomodation
is very clean and well kept whilst the staff are helpful and friendly, go there and help the cause!

Room Tip: room at front and high for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Steve,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! You are correct, Christchurch is on the mend and we are very close to the already operating attractions in the city. Appreciate the time you took to write this review.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is well located near the centre of what remains of the city. The staff were helpful. The room was clean well appointed nice decor etc. Not large, but not cramped. Good view. All very new and clean looking. The lifts might have been a bit slow during busy periods. Dining room appeared small for a hotel of this size, but there was never a problem finding a table for breakfast. Valet parking was fine. The business centre had free access to computers with internet connection and printers.
Happy to stay there again. There was nothing lacking in a reasonably attractive hotel. I would not be looking for anything better

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback. It is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the room and the service we provided. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The rooms are very good and most have a good view of what remains of the city, whichever part of the hotel your room is located in. This hotel may seem like it's in the middle of nowhere but that's not true, Within a few minutes' walk you are right in the heart of the city, Hagley Park, the casino and restaurants on one end and the other end leads you to the cardboard cathedral and the 185 empty chairs memorial. Just across the hotel is the famously rebuilt New Regent Street, which is a very happening and vibrant street with cafes, restaurants and of course, shopping. Staff at the hotel are very nice and ready to help you out. I would stay here again when in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 201Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbwatts, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi Sheila
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My team and I are delighted that you had such a positive experience when you stayed with us and explored the surround prescient.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Many thanks
Brad Watts
General manager
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at the Rendezvous for two nights (at start and end of trip) in April this year. It was central, clean and all up lovely place to stay. Free wifi in the lobby which was great. Customer service was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone. As a solo female traveller I really felt comfortable at this hotel. Oh - and I found the bed super comfy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbwatts, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi Sheila
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My team and I are delighted that you had such a positive experience when you stayed with us and explored the surround prescient.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Many thanks
Brad Watts
General manager
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
948 reviews
0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $93 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing