We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Love!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just a really great hotel - no dramas here. For a start there's free wi-fi - which is becoming a rarity these days! Everything works really well and is up to the standards you would expect of a decent hotel. There's also i-pod docks in the rooms so you can play your own music should you wish. The hotel staff are what really make the place though - super friendly and helpful. I am happy to stay here every time I come to Christchurch!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cazmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and was greatly received.
We are very proud of our staff and are happy they made such an impression.

Sincerely,
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    744
    243
    72
    22
See reviews for
188
813
122
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has just recently reopened in the very depleted CBD of Christchurch, and stands alone where there was once only tall buildings in all directions. It is opposite the newly reopened New Regent Street, which has quirky small old style shops, which are popular with tourists. Really great to see the new shops and hotels opening in Christchurch
Our stay at the Rendezvous was awesome. The room size was good, great shower, all the amenities you need. Very comfortable bed and pillows. It was very quiet, we were on the 13th floor, and it was nice and light. It was great to have a good amount of lightly in the room. A good selection of TV channels.
the staff were awesome - so helpful and always smiling.
We have drinks at the house bar which was very relaxing by the large open gas fire. We will definitely stay again.
The only down for us was the lack of parking directly outside the hotel, and the valet parking was not our thing, plus you could only pull into the entrance of the parking area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Positive feedback is greatly appreciated by the team here.
We are very happy to be able to open again to the public and once new buildings are built and more shops start to reopen it will have a very positive affect not only for the hotel but also all of Christchurch.
The lack of parking around the hotel is unfortunate due to the rebuild, however parking in the parks provided by us whilst does cost, is safer and more convenient.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Christchurch in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is very central to what was once the centre of town. The destruction is quite shocking, but the resilience of the locals is inspiring - there is a great little mall made from old shipping containers and any building that is safe to be used is in use. We found some excellent cafes and bars around this hotel, despite some of them not being obvious. The hotel itself is almost new and very clean, the rooms small but well equipped and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Got a good rate online. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: The view from the window of the falling down carpark and vacant lots was shocking - be prepared for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chikorollz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated.
Christchurch has worked hard to get going again and start rebuilding and we are proud to be apart of that.
There are great shops and cafes that are re-opening and we hear nothing but positive reviews of the container shopping mall.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work hard to make every experience pleasurable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Christchurch in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while in Christchurch . The hotel is new and in a good location if you are wanting to walk around the city even though there is not much of Christchurch left .The hotel is really lovely the rooms are a good size the bathroom is luxury big windows that do give a good view . The restaurant is only small but great food and service . Staff where very helpful even looked up a florist for us , as sadly not alot of business is still operating as yet because of the earthquake . There is a great little Chinese restaurant next door to Rendezvous which is well priced and rather tasty .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor, your time is appreciated.
Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and was greatly received.
We work hard to make positive memories for our guests and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming back in the future.
Thank you

Yours sincerely,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice clean fresh rooms Modern décor and friendly staff. As other reviews have stated the rooms are a bit on the small side but I would consider large compared to the European standard.The hotel is around 700 meters from the casino and the casino offers a free shuttle to and from the hotel.Overall a good stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.
Feedback of any kind is instrumental in helping us develop.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for your time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Christchurch in the future.

Best Wishes,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed one night at this lovely new hotel en route to Auckland. It was hard to find the entrance to the hotel because of roadworks and rebuilding projects - lots of one-way roads at the moment that the GPS didn't know about! The hotel was quiet so we were able to check in early, and then go out exploring.
The room was lovely but a little small for 3 of us - our 10year-old's trundle bed took up a lot of the spare space though. The hotel itself didn't have any special facilities - no gym or pool - but we wouldn't have had time for them anyway
Free Wi-fi was available in the lobby near reception and restaurant - kept our son happy while we relaxed and had a drink
We ate at the restaurant - my laksa was delicious but my husband's steak was not cooked to his request
All-in-all we had a nice visit, and would love to come back again and have more time to check out the re-building

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor, your time is greatly appreciated.
Unfortunately getting around Christchurch can be a bit of a struggle with the rebuild going on which of course is only a temporary inconvenience.
Our hotel does have facilities such as a gym and suana.
We do have bigger rooms available for an extra $20 per night and it is unfortunate about your husbands meal in our resturant, our staff are here to make your experience enjoyable and would of happily tried to make it a more positive one.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are only too happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We flew into Christchurch for one night prior to driving down route 8 to Queenstown. Very nice boutique hotel in CBD, walkable to shopping and restaurants. Staff was friendly. Room was a bit small but for one night it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.
Your positive review has been shared with the team and was warmly received.
We are fortunate to be conveniently located to a number of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars.
We do have bigger rooms for an extra $20 per night.
Thank you again for providing feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best Wishes,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing