We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely new hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed one night at this lovely new hotel en route to Auckland. It was hard to find the entrance to the hotel because of roadworks and rebuilding projects - lots of one-way roads at the moment that the GPS didn't know about! The hotel was quiet so we were able to check in early, and then go out exploring.
The room was lovely but a little small for 3 of us - our 10year-old's trundle bed took up a lot of the spare space though. The hotel itself didn't have any special facilities - no gym or pool - but we wouldn't have had time for them anyway
Free Wi-fi was available in the lobby near reception and restaurant - kept our son happy while we relaxed and had a drink
We ate at the restaurant - my laksa was delicious but my husband's steak was not cooked to his request
All-in-all we had a nice visit, and would love to come back again and have more time to check out the re-building

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor, your time is greatly appreciated.
Unfortunately getting around Christchurch can be a bit of a struggle with the rebuild going on which of course is only a temporary inconvenience.
Our hotel does have facilities such as a gym and suana.
We do have bigger rooms available for an extra $20 per night and it is unfortunate about your husbands meal in our resturant, our staff are here to make your experience enjoyable and would of happily tried to make it a more positive one.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are only too happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    746
    243
    72
    22
See reviews for
188
818
122
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We flew into Christchurch for one night prior to driving down route 8 to Queenstown. Very nice boutique hotel in CBD, walkable to shopping and restaurants. Staff was friendly. Room was a bit small but for one night it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.
Your positive review has been shared with the team and was warmly received.
We are fortunate to be conveniently located to a number of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars.
We do have bigger rooms for an extra $20 per night.
Thank you again for providing feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best Wishes,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely new hotel. Staff very helpful. Free wifi in lobby/bar area, which is a lovely place to sit back and enjoy a cuppa while catching up on email etc. Not a huge amount of dining choice for dinner near by due to the city rebuilding however food at the hotel is lovely and there is a great little asian resturant next door. Can walk to most places in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPearce79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor, your time is greatly appreciated.
Your feedback has been shared with the team here and it was warmly received.
We are very proud of our staff and our restaurant has been receiving very positive reviews.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rendezvous Christchurch and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you again,
Yours sincerely,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
286 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had everything a business travveller needs. Comfortable bed, good shower, clear TV, good room service and friendly & attentive staff. Probably the only downer was wifi limited to the ground floor only. Would have been excellent otherwise. I would easily stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we are proud of our staff and they way they work hard to make everyone's stay memorable and positive.
Your feedback is instrumental in helping us develop and change for the better.
We look forward to having you stay with us again at Rendezvous Christchurch.
Thank you

Yours sincerely,
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It seems to be a new hotel, and it looks very nice. The rooms are clean and big. The hotel's restaurant is way too small, though, and there isn't enough variety in breakfast choices. Lobby has free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcrob96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time taken to provide a review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments have been shared with the team here.
Feedback of any kind is instrumental in helping us develop and change for the better.
Thank you again for your time.
We look forward to having you stay again at Rendezvous Christchurch in the future.

Yours sincerely
Rendezvous Christchurch Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Christchurch is on its way back and the opening of the Rendezvous is a great addition for business travelers. While WiFi would be great to have in every room, free broadband in rooms was a bonus and the connections was quick and consistent. The restaurant food was very nice though not so sure about the big movie screen that runs silent movies. Its a bit distracting. As previous people have mentioned, rooms are a bit small bit they are very comfortable with good beds and a nice hot strong shower. Though not sure why with such a big shower space, they did not include a bath. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateeSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the team.
We are receiving a lot of good comments about our restaurant meals also good feedback about the movie in the restaurant, I am sorry it wasn’t for you…
If you would like to stay in a larger room next time we have Deluxe Rooms available for extra $20 per night.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Christchurch near future.

Sincerely,
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night on a trip around the South Island. Seeing as it has just gone through a refurbishment this hotel is all nice and new. The room was a little small but comfortable. Dinner and breakfast in the hotel was good although perhaps a little expensive. Every staff member we dealt with were really nice and friendly. Unfortunately nothing much else has been opened in the city so there isn't really anything around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachagane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarqueCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the team.
City is slowly opening up, it will be more shops and cafés around soon.
We hope you have a chance to come back to Christchurch and stay with us again near future.

Sincerely,
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing