We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host”
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Designer Cottage
Ranked #3 of 140 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Chet has a well maintained place. Best of all he is a great host to point you in the right direction to see Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

We found this homestay very pleasan Chet was an excellent host and Designer Cottage is within easy walking distance to a rather pleasant restaurant. The premises were very clean and tidy and we enjoyed chatting with Chet each day. There is a lovely fish and chip shop that he recommended that was really awesome. We had Akaroa Blue Cod and the fishe we got was quite huge but very tasy. I would highly recommend Designer Cottage to any one. Hope to return there some day. Jo & Graeme Marshall

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationertaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Designer Cottage consists of two premises. One is a large house with guest rooms and the other is a small two bedroom house. My review is about the two bedroom house. Having a small house to ourselves was a rare treat and a great alternative to impersonal hotels. The house has cooking and washing facilities and you are supplied with cooking equipment: plates etc - everything you need. In my experience, this house was much better equippped than most self catering accommodation with more than just the minimal amounts of furnishing. In fact, the house is tastefully decorated with items in keeping with its historical status. Breakfast is supplied every day at the main house or when we had an early morning, we were provided with breakfast items the previous evening. The owner Chet was very friendly was lots of advice on how to make the most of our time in Christchurch. In my experience, the city centre was about 30 to 40 minutes walk from town and there were plenty of buses too. On the way to town, you pass lots of shops, including supermarkets, pubs and restaurants.The house could not be considered boutique or luxury, however it has plenty of charm, a good location, good facilities, service with a smile and all at a very affordable price. I am looking forward to staying there again some time!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed two nights at Designer Cottages and have booked to return. From the minute we made contact with owner Chet his efficiency and courtesy shone through and he gave us a warm welcome on arrival, even moving us at no extra cost into one of his bigger properties to give the children more room to play. The house was spacious and the kitchen well stocked, beds very comfortable, and the continental breakfast tray brimming over with goodies. The cottages' location is ideal: plenty of shops round the corner, just a 20 min walk into town but in a quiet suburb with a quaint cottage garden that's a real suntrap. We've been travelling for 3 months in NZ and this has been one of our best experiences yet. If you want the peace of the countryside combined with city amenities, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My wife and i stayed at the Designer Cottage a few days ago and i have to say it was perfect! The place is really homely and the rooms are huge. There are a few houses next to each other and the gardens, rooms and kitchen/bathroom facilities are first class. I cannot believe there are no other reviews!!!

Chet manages the property and he was really welcoming. He also was a great help with hints and tips for the South Island and local area. The comments on their website are all spot on and i can assure you staying here is an absolute treat. The rate includes a great breakfast (fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurt etc) and the rooms are huge compared to other places in NZ.

Finally for us a big added bonus was free wireless internet. You can spend a lot of money in NZ online and we were able to plan our trip ahead on their fast wireless internet. Stay was perfect - we are booked in there again in 5 days time!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tinkersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cottage kampung yang bugus sekali tak paya share sama orang lain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kumaralimalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazwanenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 140 in Christchurch
875 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 140 in Christchurch
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing