We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed in a Bealey Ave motel for $180 a night for 1 night...put up with boy racers and no sleep...found this place on the internet and read the reviews from obviously a couple of people who could never be pleased....paid a fair price for a room that was clean warm (there was a -5 frost one of the nights!), comfortable and spacious...no road noise.....managers/owners were pleasant friendly and helpful...would recommend it as very good value

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myscreenname822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
24
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Motel was very nice staff were very hospitable & despite the disaster Christchurch & it's residence had experienced this lovely motel sustained it's beauty & glamour. We were very impressed better than some Auckland motels. Thank you ☺️.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aroha1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Smell of mildew was overpowering, heating wasn't adequate, electric blanket didn't work & very much overpriced for old, damp but clean unit .Bed & pillows smelt of dampness. Wouldn't bother staying there again as better quality available in Ch-Ch. Give this one a miss is you value your health!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eril r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Friendly host who gave us some much needed local advice. We had a large studio room which was just right for us. Good value for money. It was very clean and the beds were great. I recommend it for people staying in the East of Christchurch.

Room Tip: Large studio rooms are great if you have lots of gear or just want the extra space. They also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Hazel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi 8Hazel8..

Thanks for your review...we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a long trip from Dunedin to Christchurch whereupon I found my accommodation double booked, I ended up coming across Arcadia motel who were accommodating, lovely and excellent to deal with.
The unit is a two bedroom unit wch they discounted, it is immaculately clean and with minimal noise from the main road.
I will undoubtedly be reccomending this motel to colleagues as I travel constantly for my job, so finding a comfortable motel is a must as they're home away from home:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellinamariaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi KellinamariaD.

Thank you for your review......pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I am a concessive traveling reviewer and I am usually trying to accept common sense issues in accommodation. But after our experience at Arcadia Motel in Christchurch I understand it cannot be anything worst. If would not say anything about the abrupt and helpless receptionist, probably the owner/manager, I have to say that we had for one night no hot water at all, the milk was just from this year and the cleanness was for like a backpacker.
But I have to mention the worst. Actually I had to cancel our second night because of smell. Chemical smell I mean, but not from cleaning. Probably from bad bugs treatment, I can’t be sure.
Personally, I have nothing against the Motels as an accommodation option but the Arcadia Motel is not an option whatsoever.
I am usually travelling between Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch but I will avoid like hell the Arcadia Motel in Christchurch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_mc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your review laura_mc_13.

We haven't had any guests staying for 2 nights but leaving after 1....maybe you could contact us to clarify and we can investigate?

If you had no hot water wouldn't it be a good idea to tell someone about it so that it can be rectified??

What are bad bugs?? What is a concessive traveling reviewer ??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Regrettably stayed here earlier this week. As a sales rep, many nights are spent in motels and have never experienced the rude, unhelpful 'service', worst shower ever and USED soap in there - obviously NOT cleaned!
Upon arrival and booking was told (and not politely) that they would not accept a credit card number, needed a card.....okay, sorted. Was informed they are new and have just set up eftpos and NO motels now days accept just card number - RUBBISH!! I travel throughout South Is and do this on a regular basis!
Was questioned about my work and how long they had been around and what they did.
Asked if we wanted milk, yes please green, reply blue only.
Taken to room, adequate at best.
Shower - wait (not joking) TEN minutes for it to warm up and then actually would have had more pressure under a sprinkler - then EW - USED SOAP IN THE SHOWER TRAY!!!!!
Bed, freshly made would be questionable.....and mattress has had better days - springs felt.
Woken in the morning to some kind of compression pump going in the workplace directly behind the place.

Next night paid same price, with credit card number only, and had helpful friendly service and a clean comfortable room, green milk and a fantastic shower - from a lemon to a gateaux in the space of a few km's

Good luck with your venture, I am positive you are going to need it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheleNFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia100, Manager at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your review CheleNFish.

It is most helpful. Your wishes of good luck have been a good omen as we are doing very well. Sorry for your experience, but if you had raised it at the time we could have done something. The guests in the room since you have found the shower very pleasant and good pressure. In regards to your other points we can now accept card transactions without the card present.....and we can supply our guests with whatever milk they require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.4 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Christchurch Kiwi Holiday Park &...
#31 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cranford Oak Motel
Cranford Oak Motel
#45 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.9 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.5 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#48 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 564 Ferry Road, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing