We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and conveniently located apartment/motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely and conveniently located apartment/motel”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the Christmas period and were highly impressed with this motel, which is really more like an apartment complex. The rooms are spacious and offer excellent cooking facilities, including hotplates and frying pans.

The location is great too, being close to the Merivale shopping centre and the central business district, while still having the ability to bypass the city centre to get to the suburbs. Bealey Avenue is one of the major thoroughfares in Christchurch and we were pleasantly surprised with how quiet the apartment is, thanks to good design and double-glazed windows. The laundry facilities in the complex and well-maintained and the owners were very friendly and always willing to assist when requested.

We are planning a trip to Christchurch in early 2015 and are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to your satisfaction.
It is great to no that you want to come back and stay and we look forward to looking after you in the future.

Thanks Bruce and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    189
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
200
372
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A very nice place to stay. Very friendly people. Clean room. Carlton's right down the street is a great pub and place to eat. We stayed in many places in our 3+ weeks in NZ and this ranked right near the top. Took advantage of their laundry facilities which helped us considerably.

Room Tip: Look for the top 5-7 places to stay on Tripadvisor (depending on the number of places listed) and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our stay in Amross in April 2014 was great! The rooms were clean and nicely furbished and the owners were prompt and friendly.

It is also a 15min walk to the City Centre and Botanic Gardens.

Will definately recommend to family and friends to stay when they are in Christchurch. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RyanTYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi

Great that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for recommending us to family and friends

Thanks

Bruce and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hi Guys,
We went to visit family in Christchurch and stayed for about a week in Amross Court. We had a wonderful clean unit with one bedroom, a kitchenette and a spacious lounge. This was perfect, because we didn't want to impose on our post earthquake Christchurch family and wanted instead to invite them to come over and see us in the motel for tea or coffee. We really apreciated being allowed to have guests. We will definitely be staying there again when visiting Christchurch and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Bernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Amross Court for 2 nights and booked a 2 bedroom family apartment. It was lovely - very very spacious and both rooms and toilet was very clean. There were also many movie channels to view! Location is also quite near to city centre, around 5 min driving.
We had a wonderful time talking to the owner, Sue, who was very friendly and kind.
Overall, it was a great experience, definitely highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi

It is always good when people enjoy their stay, and thank you for your review.

Bruce and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My two sisters along with my mother stayed here recently and we all thoroughly enjoyed our it . Rooms were so clean and had everything we needed was at our finger tips .. We were so impressed to find that when we returned each evening the curtains had been drawn and our heater put on . Fantastic location and walking distance to all in Christchurch . Definitely would recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieabroad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here on our arrival at Christchurch at the start of our holiday. The owner was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The motel was well located and only a short distance from everything. We stayed in the front of the building on the 1st floor and it had a bay window that made the room look more spacious. This location was a bit noisy at first because of the roadworks in the street, however it was quiet when the workers finished at about 5.30pm.
Had a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Front of building has a bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi

Great that you enjoyed your stay.
We were also pleased the road works finished at 5.30.
Its even better now because they have finished altogether.
Thanks for the review.

Bruce and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 145 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Property: Amross Court Motor Lodge
Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location. Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating. 14 clean, spacious, affordable units, comprising 1 and 2 bedroom units, access and studio units. Walking distance to good restaurants, city centre, Hagley Park and Museum. Free off street parking, free Wi-Fi. Air Conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing