We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great motel in good location with well appointed spacious room with comfortable bed and very friendly and helpful hosts. Will stay again next time we are in Christchurch and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    186
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
197
362
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Would highly recommend a stay at the Amross!!!...VERY comfortable beds, clean and tidy and nice and quiet. We stayed with a 1 year old and very accommodating providing a portacot (without us even asking) and portacot sheets. Friendly staff and a lovely little dog our daughter loved!!! Convenient location only 5 minutes walk from town 10/10.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everything about this motel and the rooms ,equipment and wonderful staff simply could not be beaten
We stayed for 3 nights and stupidly left valuable item behind in a cupboard but received an immediate e mail and safe keeping. Such attention and honesty is very rare these days

As for the complaint about poor sleep due to light only an idiot could miss the fact that there are clearly both black out linings and beautifull sheer curtains.
The thought that has gone into equipping rooms and the lovely decor is a great credit to the lovely managment couple

Cannot recomend the motel highly enough

Room Tip: some rooms are up a flight of stairs so if you need ground floor unit ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bn1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I use to like coming here but things have changed. I got told on arrival that if I had rung and booked I would of got the room for $135 but as I had booked through there web site it was going to cost me $145.00, ("and I could pay $145 if I liked")makes no sense.I got charged $145.00 in the morning and thought oh well, they must need it more than me.

I travel alot and its easier to just book via the net, than to ring someone and book that way.

I think some Motels/Hotels in CHCH think they can just behave how they want as there is a room shortage after the earthquakes, and I think this place couldnt care less if I came back or not as there rooms will always be full. Sad

In the future I think I'll find a new regular in CHCH.

Room Tip: Book via phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, Owner at Amross Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
It is hard to help people sometimes.
This guest arrives for a 4th stay and we offer him a Corporate rate if he rings for his bookings in future.
We went out of our way to give him the same room that he liked in the past at his request and he says "we don't care". Suddenly we go from 5 circles a year ago to 2 circles and Christchurch has a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I can't think of one thing wrong with Amross Court. It's positioning couldn't be better as it is right on the edge of the rebuilding CBD, with suburban shops to it's north and plenty of eating options within easy walk. The rooms are a good size and extremely clean and the beds are comfortable. It was very good value for money and Bruce and Sue's friendly and helpful service was nothing short of excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Bruce and Sue run a top motor lodge. We had a most enjoyable last night in Christchurch at Amross Court. The location is very good indeed, the rooms has all the comforts of home and made for a easy transition back to our home in Melbourne. We would recommend Amross Court without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here the night we flew into Christchurch. We were looking for something simple and affordable and this ticked all the boxes. We had to lug our suitcases up a flight of stairs which was my only complaint. Lucky for me my husband took care of that

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyliekelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
4.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amross Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Court Motor Lodge

Property: Amross Court Motor Lodge
Address: 61 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amross Court Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location. Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating. 14 clean, spacious, affordable units, comprising 1 and 2 bedroom units, access and studio units. Walking distance to good restaurants, city centre, Hagley Park and Museum. Free off street parking, free Wi-Fi. Air Conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Amross Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing