We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, if you don't mind walking a bit”
Review of At The Right Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
At The Right Place
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed February 7, 2014

After one night at the YHA in Christchurch, I spent a night At the Right Place without really knowing what to expect and I was quite surprised: I was in a room with actual beds (5 of us). The atmosphere was friendly, but not too noisy and the owners very very nice and helped me book my shuttle for the next morning while at the YHA, they made it clear that they will not help me unless I used their partners. The only downside is that you need to walk 10-15 minutes to get to the city center. If you don't mind a short walk, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mounir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 74 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner and I went for 4 days to the A&P Show in Christchurch.. For saving a few bucks we went first to the YHA Hostel where we spent a really bad night !! Next day we move to At The Right Place where Denise saved our weekend.. The premises are great, we got a really sunny and warm room, with TV and a beatiful and refurbished bathroom..
It is definitely an excellent place to stay in Christchurch, close to the CBD, with bars and restaurants next to their location.. Well done !!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Giuliano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This place Is lovely, the owners are great and really went out of there way to make us feel welcome and make sure we had everything that we needed. They helped us set up a bank account, had heaps of local info and the place is clean and tidy. We bought a van in Christchurch and they were genuinely excited and happy for us :) Don't believe the other reviews I can only think the people writing them haven't stayed in hostels before? The common area, bathrooms and kitchen were all kept clean and tidy by the magical fairies. :) We reccomend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank daisydoo221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your comment,
Hope to see you next time you come to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was booked for a night in dorm room, end up this hostel free upgrade to a 3 bedroom motel for me. The location close to the hospital and intercity main bus station but it take about 25+ mins to walk to town center. Friendly staff too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The most expensive we've stayed in to date but also the worst, avoid.

Reception is friendly enough but the hostel building (seperate) is not looked after one bit.

Holes in walls, lights not working, locks on doors barely work, generally dirty and kitchen is beyond just needing a tidy up.

Toilets and showers are too few and dirty. The kitchen is small with not great equipment, 1 of 2 kettles doesn't work & and one toaster only so good luck if it's busy.

Used by construction workers who don't care about the place or respect travellers either so expect alarms early in the morning if you've had to arrive late at night and just need a good sleep. Also small bunk beds which are probably for children, so don't expect to be able to sit up in bottom bunk, incidentally, if you get motion sickness then these bunks are really not for you!

A good 20 mins walk at least from town and also from NakedBus stop. Few food options nearby apart from pricey bars so it'll be a Burger King or Chinese only.

We're glad we only stayed one night and could get out. Brace yourself if this is the only place left with space.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Popey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback.
The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests.
The people working in the rebuild are needed to get the city back to normal. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
We are very sorry you hadn't have a good experience, however, we deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Love the location, the room (I got a 5 shared room complete with bathroom and a kitchenette). The bunk beds are creaky, but I'm not complaining. The room is also very near to the laundry room.

The place is right on the main street, easy to get to the bus stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked here because the place I wanted to stay was booked.

This place is quite a hike from town center (about 20+ minutes) and is overpriced for what you get.

The communal rooms and bathrooms are FREEZING cold, there are holes in the walls that are plastered but not painted, there are only two showers and two toilets to share between all dorm room guests in the bathroom area (one toilet of the two was out of order when I was there). (This isn't counting the handicapped bathroom).

The kitchen is small and has been taken over by permanent renters: the city's constructions workers. They were very nice guys but I did feel a bit like an intruder.

The internet is $4/hr and, other than the local library, there aren't any free wifi alternatives nearby.

I stayed for one night and was out early the next morning. The stay wasn't traumatic or anything but I certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.4 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#74 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#90 of 146 in Christchurch
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ferry Motel
Ferry Motel
#122 of 146 in Christchurch
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#87 of 146 in Christchurch
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Right Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Right Place

Address: 85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Akron Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $20 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — At The Right Place 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Right Place provides diverse and comfortable accommodation and is situated only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, botanical gardens, Hagley Park and Arts Centre. There are also plenty of restaurants & cafes in close proximity. All rooms and accommodation are located at the end of a 70 metre driveway, set well away from busy roads to give you a quieter and more relaxing place to stay.Quality Backpackers accommodation with comfortable common areas, free tea and coffee for all guests and friendly staff. All units have their own kitchen and bathroom amenities, are double glazed for extra comfort and opening direct or overlooking our private garden, bbq and play area. On-site facilities include internet access (broadband and wireless), guest laundry, excellent off-street parking. Proudly Kiwi owned and operated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your At The Right Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing