We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the WRONG place”
Review of At The Right Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At The Right Place
Ranked #134 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Most aweful hostel ever, beds i was scared that brake down, nasty, filthy, noisy. I was so glad i only booked one night I ran as fast as i could from this place. Kitchen full of dirty dishes, rotting food, sticky floor. Most annoying you have to walk through the common room to go to the toilet. Just bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thanks for your review. we always appreciate constructive opinions.
The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. Dirty kitchen is not easy to control if your mates (backpackers ) don't wash after using dishes. We clean two times a day the kitchen and bathrooms. however sometimes, is difficult to understand why complaints go to us when we don't use the kitchen at all.
Your review bring us into concern as what we show in photos is what we offer. we have excellent stuff working always for the customer, so It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you.
We deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance.
Hope you have a good day
We see you next time hopefully,
safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the motel. $139 for the one night which was in a room that had a kitchen. No plug for the bath or sink was disappointing, TV reception average and a way too soft bed are the onlyinor complaints and were fine for one night.

We stayed in a holiday unit of similar facilities for $78 night for a week prior to staying here at the return to Christchurch the night before our flight home so compared to that I'm not sure it was good value.

Lighting on the stairs was non existent and needed. super soft queen size bed would be too soft for more than one night.

Receptionist really really helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crankyfrankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was probably unlucky because I stayed 3 nights and I don't have so mice memory of the place. I remember that the toilets where not so clean (bring your own towel!!), the washbasins hobbit-size (impossible to brush your teeth normally) and dirty air in the building. But it's safe! There was a medium earthquake one evening I was there and nothing fell.
It takes 20 minutes fast walking from the city centre and 25 minutes to the nearest supermarket. You're warned...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were booked into here by the i-Site in Christchurch after being unable to find any accomodation on booking.com. The place is a combination motel/backpackers, and we stayed in a private studio room. From the outside it looks rather run-down, but on the inside it was clean and reasonably comfortable. We certainly have gotten better value for money elsewhere in NZ, but perhaps it is unfair to compare as Christchurch is a big city, and accommodation options are limited as all the places in the city center are still closed due to the earthquakes. If you are keen to be in Christchurch, this place is located within walking distance of places like the Botanical Gardens and the re:Start mall, as well as the few gap-filling bars that have popped up on Victoria St.

Room Tip: The rooms look to be about comparable, though every other room has a balcony with ashtray so it is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Dropped off our camper and stayed here for three nights! Got a free upgrade to a private room which was nice of the staff! Infact the staff were very nice throughout!

The communal area was decent with they've having tons of channels and the kitchen area was well stocked and kept clean! The shower areas were also clean!

No Internet but that's the norm over there and it's not so far from the library where you can use it for free anyway!

Our room was cool enough and it wasn't overly pricey!

Oh it has a washer and dryer $2 each so you can do your own laundry!

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for one night before flying out of Christchurch. We stayed in what used to be a hotel room which had 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, a living room and kitchen. The lounge and kitchen were a good size and milk was supplied for free which was nice. The bedroom that had 2 beds was comfortable but the one with 4 beds was pretty cramped. It was a good location too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The staff are super friendly and very helpful, but the facilities aren't in great shape. The buildings have obviously been modified into a hostel and the finishings aren't high end. The locks on the doors made me nervous given that it was a city and I didnt feel comfortable leaving my belongings in my private room when I went out. They do have a large lounge area for TV. A daily internet pass will cost you $20, which, is about twice what I had to pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,109 reviews
2.4 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#107 of 146 in Christchurch
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#77 of 146 in Christchurch
119 reviews
2.7 mi away
AAA Northlands Motel
AAA Northlands Motel
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Right Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Right Place

Address: 85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Akron Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $20 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — At The Right Place 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Right Place provides diverse and comfortable accommodation and is situated only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, botanical gardens, Hagley Park and Arts Centre. There are also plenty of restaurants & cafes in close proximity. All rooms and accommodation are located at the end of a 70 metre driveway, set well away from busy roads to give you a quieter and more relaxing place to stay.Quality Backpackers accommodation with comfortable common areas, free tea and coffee for all guests and friendly staff. All units have their own kitchen and bathroom amenities, are double glazed for extra comfort and opening direct or overlooking our private garden, bbq and play area. On-site facilities include internet access (broadband and wireless), guest laundry, excellent off-street parking. Proudly Kiwi owned and operated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your At The Right Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing