We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #58 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Lovely Motel and convenient to the Airport. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Stayed 2 nights in May and then another 2 nights in June when we returned from our trip to the UK. Car minding at $2 per night for the 33 days we were away was great value compared with Christchurch Airport charges for parking, plus we were taken to the Airport and collected on our return as part of their friendly service - well done. Motel Units set well back from the road. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTheWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Airport Birches Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked our last night in NZ at the Airport Birches. Its very convenient to the airport, and perfect for a last night stop over, or a stepping stone when beginning a trip. Units were a little dated but had everything needed to make the stay comfortable. Management/staff were friendly and very helpful. Would certainly stay there again if in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Michael N

Thank you for your review, in one of the photographs you uploaded there is a large black paint smear on one of our units, this was taken during the time when the motel's exterior was being painted. Painting has now been completed and the motel is looking very nice.

Kind regards

Airport Birches Motel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Clean modern and quiet
Good location if you want to be close to the airport

Very pleasant hosts
And priced well
King size bed was great!

Pleasant , spa pool not used and no noise from any neighbours yet it was full

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matts1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this Christchurch motel recently.
Unit 1 was a nice clean sunny unit with fresh linen and comfy bed. Entry to the bathroom however was very difficult, you have to be of slim build and manoeuvre your way around a basin. Good shower . Ample towels .Portion control Conditioning Shampoo tiny soap provided . Bedside clock radio was on but not on right time. Outside at the back there was a little private courtyard with table and chairs. Inside Not a lot of space for suitcases in the unit . We initially slept comfortably until woken up around 10pm by ( noisy / drunken ) guests being dropped off right outside our unit by a minivan… presumably the local hotels shuttle service.
Early morning traffic noise from Yaldhurst road is an issue in this room .

INTERNET access was the biggest disappointment with this motel. You get a voucher for 50mb per day which is next to nothing.

Unit 7 had no rear access and a very compact corner shower with a mixer that was not user friendly. Our friends heard less traffic noise in this unit however there was even less room for suitcases.
We would not stay here again due solely to the internet access which we all needed to access only to discover was the provision totally inadequate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fortyniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Fortyniner

Thank you for your review, in regards to internet access we’ve taken your comments onboard and have increased the amount we provide to guests.

Kind regards

Airport Birches Motel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Arrived around midnight and the shuttle picked us up within 20 minutes which is not bad at all. The property is old, tired and designed in the typical poor New Zealand motel style, bad use of space, terrible bathroom, peculiar lighting arrangements. But that's life - many NZ motels are similar. Next morning we taken back to the airport, but with bad grace, profit margins being the driver's main complaint.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikexerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear mikexerez

Thank you for your review, in regards to our shuttle typically it takes no longer than five minutes to arrive at the airport. However our shuttle can be quite active late at night which may result in some time spent waiting between trips, usually ten to fifteen minutes.

As for the motel itself, we feel it suits its purpose as short term accommodation adequately.

Kind regards

Airport Birches Motel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at this depressing motel at the end of a 4 week trip round New Zealand and it was comfortably the worst place we stayed in. The owner picked us up from the railway station and barely uttered a word during the journey and refused to take us to the airport the following morning, necessitating a taxi ride.

The position of the motel in a suburban residential/industrial area means there are no restaurants within walking distance. You have the choice of sending out for pizza or walking 200m to the delights of the local petrol station.

The room was small and shabbily fitted out and the other rooms very close by and very noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Tom H

Thank you for your review, in regards to our shuttle, its hours are from 09:00am to 01:00am outside these times we are able to organise a taxi. These hours are outlined on our website clearly.

Whilst there are no restaurants within walking distance, there are two that provide transfers to and from our motel which we can arrange upon request. In addition there is a small takeaway bar and small convenience store, 400 metres down the road.

Whilst some guests can be unruly at times, all rooms have soundproofing to help reduce outside noise.

Kind regards

Airport Birches Motel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a disastrous experience here. There was no hot water and we only found this out when we tried to have a shower. The staff were aware of this and did not advise us or offer compensation. We were forced to shower in somebody else's dirty room. The staff were not apologetic and didn't seem to care. We arrived late at night and the bus driver was rude when we asked if he would stop to go through drive through as we had not eaten dinner. We asked to use the wireless internet and a lady brought a voucher and didn't say a word when she handed it to me. When we needed a rental car the next day he reluctantly rang around but that seemed to be in pain whilst doing this. The staff need interpersonal skills training, a lesson in learning how to be helpful, and in personal etiquette.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bugz2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchesNZ, Owner at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

I thank you for your review.
I remember I arrived at the airport to pick you up after you had rang for a courtesy transfer to our motel. I arrived and had to wait 5 minutes as only half your group was ready. When we were 500m past McDonalds you asked if I could take you back through the drive through. I advised that at 12.35am and with 4 more groups to pick up by 1.00am that this was not possible. When we arrived at the motel you again asked if I could take you back to McDonalds, again I said no and advised you to go to the Caltex Service Station 200m away for food.
With regards to no hot water, we apologise as a gas water heater which heats water for your unit and the next door unit had blown. We had been made aware by the guest next door to you 5 minutes earlier and were endeavouring to find out what was going on. My wife arranged for you to shower in a 2 bedroom unit. While the kitchen was dirty, the second bedroom which has it's own shower had had no guest staying in it that night as you should have been aware of as no beds had been slept in, and the shower was clean, with clean towels etc.
I admit we were not in the best form that morning with this wee emergency and I must apologise if I came across as regarding you as a pain that morning while trying to find you a rental car, by ringing 6-8 companies, something which perhaps you should have arranged before you arrived in New Zealand. When I could find none I volunteered to take you back to the airport so you could carry on looking.I trust eventually you found one and had a nice holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Airport Delta Motel
Airport Delta Motel
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#54 of 146 in Christchurch
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $88 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing