We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the studio spa room which was very cosy, it was a great place to start our honeymoon. We arrived after hours which was not problem, loved the spa bath and the shower, nice warm room to spend a chilly night in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissiepeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We chose this hotel because we had an early morning flight out of Christchurch and they offered shuttle service also. The rooms were large and well appointed and the staff was so nice and helpful. It is close to the airport but you do not hear any plane noise! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlashVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We needed a place near the airport to stay because we were arriving late. The motel was very clean and the airport pick up at 12:30am and drop off in the morning was really appreciated. Beds very comfy. Nothing to complain about for a short stay. Thanks for your hospitality.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lanie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Thought I would write a review of this motel. I stay here on average monthly basis for busienss due to its handy location to work and can say I have been in most rooms which are extremely clean and comfortable. The owners are some of the nicest and most helpful people I have encountered on my travels across the globe and I can say I will continue to stay at this motel as long as I have the need to stay in Christchurch. Thanks for making each stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My elderly father stayed here for three weeks while his house was getting earthquake repairs done. He found the unit clean, comfortable and warm, and he appreciated the accessible bathroom. The owners were extremely helpful and considerate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otupaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 2 times on our trip the first and last nights with our 2 teenaged children. Both nights were a comfortable night sleep. Staff were friendly and happy to have a chat and give us advice. Much preferred place to stay than some of the other airport hotels. Will book here again. Easy and close to main roads. No restaurants nearby but there was a list of food places that deliver in the room. A good choice for the start of your holiday and comfortable enough for a stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Comfortable hotel only a few miles away from the Christchurch Airport. Room was spacious and comfortable. Location of the hotel was nice as I hadn't ever driven on the left side of the road before and I wanted a place where I wouldn't have to drive through the center of Christchurch to get to the hotel in my rental car from the airport. Stayed there on my way to Queenstown and then again on the way out of Christchurch. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ts6084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#69 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belle Bonne Motel
Belle Bonne Motel
#76 of 146 in Christchurch
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aarburg Airport Motel
Aarburg Airport Motel
#123 of 146 in Christchurch
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#51 of 146 in Christchurch
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $89 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing