We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free return airport transfers included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #59 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our international flight back home is always a morning flight so we have to stay one night in CHC on every visit to NZ... Picked this place (NZD135 for a studio) as the airport motel that we stayed at last year has stopped providing airport transfers.

This place does what it says on the box. Our unit (#11) was cosy and clean, though decor was dated but we don't mind such things (accomm in NZ is too expensive to be picky about furnishing!).

As we arrived in the evening we didn't bother going to the city centre (max. NZD25 one-way for a taxi). The motel provides an information folder which lists all the nearby places that deliver so we ordered from the Chinese takeout joint. Portions are huge! - recommend the sweet sour pork or stir fried veggies (served with rice or noodles).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We landed after midnight and were met by a very cheerful and friendly host. He picked us up and took us back to our Motel, helping us with our bags and giving us some good advice. Our room was very comfortable and had every thing we needed after travelling. They offered us return transfers to pick up our rental in the morning which we thought was very nice and above the required service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We arrived in Christchurch after 11pm and still were picked up within minutes of phoning for a transfer service. I had phoned prior to arrival to ask for wine to be placed in our room, a good hoice of wine was there upon our arrival along with some welcome nibbls. Found it to be a nice quiet room with a friendly service. The location is perfect for all destinations in and arond the city. .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

stayed 1 night and have another booked. they picked us up with a courtesy car at the airport and had the heater on in the room for us. The room we stayed in was the executive spa unit.
only drawback was a leak from the spa onto the carpet.
Management advised they were replacing the carpet soon as they had some minor problems from the recent earthquake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotts9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Perfect place to stay if using the airport, which is only a few minutes away. They picked us up within a few minutes of contacting them after ariving from late flight. The 2 BR unit was of a high standard, very clean and comfortable and are perfect for a family with children.
The owner was very helpful and friendly, providing us with travel tips and how to get around. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Well located, only 7 minutes away from the airport by taxi. Very friendly and helpful owner.
The studio was modern and very clean, equipped with a small kitchen and a nice shower room.
The hotel is close to the road which can be a bit noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Overnight stay before heading to Australia. Small place but pleasantly surprised by the cute, quaint style of the unit. Always nice to have a place to stay that has separate sleeping and 2 baths too. Clean, small but full of nice, up to date amenities. Very friendly Manager too!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_n_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
71 reviews
3.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,295 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Lodge Motel
Airport Lodge Motel
#38 of 146 in Christchurch
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#51 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $84 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing