We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #59 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would not go back here”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We ha a pre-booked voucher for a 1 bedroom unit for 2 adults and 2 children. When we arrived we were shown a Studio unit with one queen bed and one single bed. This was not suitable to accomodate a couple and two teenagers. The manager person was not very helpful and seemed uninterested. The matter needed to be sorted out by the travel person at the iSite who had domne the booking. We went to another motel which was just fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfoxr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchesNZ, Manager at Airport Birches Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Silverfoxr6

To clarify, the room shown to you was a one bedroom unit, with a king bed and single in the adjoining room. This room is intended for two or three guests so obviously was not suitable for your party of four people. This was the room that was booked on your behalf by the Queenstown I-Site, as listed on your booking voucher. Our information showed only two people arriving and this was backed by the rate charged for the accommodation which was only $130. You would be extremely hard pressed to find any motel accommodation by the airport for four people at $130, something the Queenstown I-Site would have been more than aware of. Despite the appearance of two more people, we did offer to provide a rollaway bed at no extra charge in the room, which was declined.

Regardless we always recommend to everyone to double check reservations and bookings ahead of time, to ensure dates and pax numbers are correct, which is why we send out reservation notices to our guests a week before arrival to ensure all is well. Unfortunately this doesn’t extend to some third party agents who don’t provide contact information.

In the future we hope your travels are more enjoyable and less eventful.

Kind regards

Airport Birches Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    59
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
53
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Dave, the proprietor, had suggested that we get off our bus from Oamaru to Christchurch at somewhere called Hornby Hub....and stated he would pick us up. We got off, called, and he was there within ten minutes. Our room was delightful; and Dave suggested a place to eat (which was within walking distance 1.5 miles) and arranged for a taxi the next morning as we had a very early flight. Everything was as it should have been and greatly aided in making our first trip to New Zealand much more enjoyable. The trip to the airport was less than ten minutes so this is really convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plantotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here on the night we arrived in NZ, and the night before we left. It is a great spot to stay when you have early/late flights. The room in our second stay was a little better than our first one, where doorways and things seemed to be in odd spots.
Very good value for money, staff were super friendly and so helpful. We even got picked up by them at 12:30am from the airport, which made things a lot easier.
Very clean, and has everything you need for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a fine choice for an overnight stay near the airport. We were promptly picked up at the airport by their van even though it was about 11PM. The room was small but clean and adequate with a comfortable bed and with a full kitchen. There was nowhere to eat nearby especially arriving so late at night so plan ahead if you're going to want something to eat after a long travel day. We walked to the petrol station and bought juice and cookies. We had rented a car from Juicy and they came to pick us up at the motel the next morning.

Room Tip: We booked for an extra $10 a room with a jacussi tub. Not a good idea. To squeeze the tub into the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nice motel, not too far from the airport. I stayed here during an overnight layover on my way south. It is about a 5min taxi ride from the airport, definitely not walking distance, but still fairly handy. I arrived too late and departed too early to catch the free motel shuttle, otherwise a taxi costs about $16.

The room was clean, modern, and well-maintained, with a kitchenette and an extra small spare bedroom. The bed was really comfortable, the location quiet, and I had a really peaceful sleep. I arrived and left in the dark, outside of reception office hours, but since I booked and paid in advance, everything was organized and the room was ready for my arrival. No problems at all.

I would definitely recommend this place to all travelers, especially for those just wanting an inexpensive stopover near Christchurch airport. At NZ$135 per night, I felt it was reasonable value, particularly for its proximity to the airport. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Good place if you just want a good rest after reaching or departing to Christchurch airport. Stayed at family room which has a master room, a small room with a bunkbed and a sofa bed in the living room. Everything is small but sufficient and the bathroom is quite clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

we arrived late, 10.30 pm at the airport, but were happy to get a welcoming pick up (with a couple of other arrivals) in the hotel minibus.
The room was clean if not very spacious. A breakfast was provided at night for us to eat in the morning, along with the complimentary tea and coffee we could make ourselves. The bathroom was large but a bit cold (it was winter). Staff were nice and friendly.
The location is convenient for car hire companies near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avonhead Garden Motel
Avonhead Garden Motel
#54 of 144 in Christchurch
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Lodge Motel
Airport Lodge Motel
#57 of 144 in Christchurch
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Property: Airport Birches Motel
Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing