We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Birches Motel
Ranked #60 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Fantastic room, cosy, comfortable, warm, quiet and very close to the airport which is great for late night arrival or early morning departures. Our price included a very nice continental brekky delivered the night before and we received a very reasonable rate off their web site. Recommend for anyone to use.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank broke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
52
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Lovely hotel for one night. Very friendly staff. Good quality fittings although the bunk room was a bit small. Pick up from Airport free which was helpful. Close to the airport, car hire and service station. Very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Friendly staff! Comfortable sleep before the long flight home. Convenient location too!

Room Tip: Spa tub not really worth consideration. Overall, no disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night and prior to booking, I inquired about an early check-out, to which Dave promptly responded. Dave also picked us up from the airport free of charge. The rooms are great, very nice and cozy, moderately spacious, bathrooms are great, nice, clean and very large.

The lady at the check-in desk seems to have an attitude, but I don't mind it. She hesitantly gave me a wifi connection with an attitude saying "this is the last one!" even though it was my first time asking her for an internet connection. However she had a good sense of humor. Given another chance, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eight_Thousander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed at Airport Birches Motel for one night only after arriving 11.30pm at the airport. The motel quickly picked us up free of charge in their courtesy bus and were waiting to show us to our room. The room was great for what we needed accommodating a family of five at a very reasonable price. Clean and comfortable, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aderfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Good location away from the earthquake damage city centre.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmuzziemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Arriving in to Christchurch from the Gold Coast at midnight. Left behind 24 degrees and entered probably minus some! Picked up by the courtesy van, entered the room to wonderful heat and a lovely warm and comfortable bed. I couldnt have been happier.

Very considerate thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 144 in Christchurch
424 reviews
2.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
691 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Airport Delta Motel
Airport Delta Motel
#31 of 144 in Christchurch
232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Lodge Motel
Airport Lodge Motel
#52 of 144 in Christchurch
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Birches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Birches Motel

Property: Airport Birches Motel
Address: 390 Yaldhurst Road, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Birches Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Birches Motel, built 2001, is located just 4 kilometres from the Christchurch Airport, but out of the flight plan. All our rooms are GROUND FLOOR with NO additional floors on top. We offer our guests the comfort and convenience of being close to the Christchurch Airport, without the noise and hassle.Our courtesy shuttle service operates between the Christchurch Airport and Railway station between 9:00am - 9:00pm everyday, except, Xmas Eve, Day, Boxing Day & New Years Eve, Day. In addition to this we offer a park and fly option for those wishing to leave their cars behind whilst they travel overseas, conditions apply.We are close to both Hornby Shopping mall (2 minute drive, 10 minute walk) and Westfield Riccarton (5 minute drive). We are also one of the closest motels to Riccarton Racecourse & Riccarton Park Convention Centre, we offer a shuttle them during normal shuttle hours. Though it is only a few minutes walk. We are also only 5 minutes walk from a nearby minigolf and driving range, for those interested in Golfing. If you are heading into the city there is a local bus service that is a mere 400m down the road.We are ideally positioned for incoming travellers as we are on the crossroads of both the North and South bypasses. As well as on the main road off to the West Coast. Making us a perfect base to start your holiday. If you are looking closer a field, then Akaroa and Hanmer Springs as well as Arthur's pass are all within around 2 hours drive of us. Along with all the Ski Fields, such as Porters Heights and Mt Hutt.For those hungry travellers a large number of local eateries will deliver to our motel, as well as free transfers to the popular Avonhead Tavern. There is also a 24 hour service station down the road for snacks and goodies.So for a relaxing experience stay, stay with us at the Airport Birches Motel.Kind regards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Birches Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing