We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Christchurch
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
62
8
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
62
8
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot cross buns amazing hosts little extras dining table our short stay shower pressure great accommodation two bedroom unit one night a wonderful stay comfortable stay new zealand business trip city centre units motel airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We have been in NZ for a couple of weeks and have been staying at Holiday Parks and motels and they have all been great but the Avonhead is a real gem. We were warmly greeted by Amanda who gave us a bunch of suggestions on what to do during our short stay in Christchurch. She even offered to drive us to the pub for dinner so we wouldn’t have to drive.
Our room was beautiful and clean with personal touches including flowers and a Christmas tree and treats for our teenage daughter. It has a real kitchenette with 4 burner stove and an oven and full utensils.The motel is arranged around a courtyard with gardens and trees and it gives a real sense of privacy and seclusion.They have a single golf hole in the middle of the courtyard with an ongoing hole on one putting contest to win $20 (my wife was close).
We were overdue on laundry and they have a great and inexpensive laundry facility.
Although we are continuing south this would be a great place to stay for a few days and it is about 15 min from the airport.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 329chuckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda T, Manager at Avonhead Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Wow, what an awesome review - thank you Chuck

We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and you all enjoyed our nice quiet Motel with extra touches.
We wish you a happy and safe holiday round New Zealand !

Hoki Mai here any time to try again with the golf!!.

Happy New Year!

Warm regards,

Amanda and Gary Kiwi owned and operated :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

First time to Christchurch and the Avonhead Motel Garden, the host are friendly (Gary & Amanda) they escorted you to your apartment one arrived, relaxing outdoor setting, gardens, chairs /tables, quite location, the rooms were clean and maintained, separate kitchen and bathroom. This place will be my normal stay in the future when working in Christchurch.

Room tip: Single or family rooms are all well design and kept well maintained.
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troya224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda T, Owner at Avonhead Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2019

Thank you for your awesome review ...we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the units comfortable and the garden quiet.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Warm regards,
Amanda and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

This place is amazing. Beds are super comfy, room is very modern and beautifully decorated, shower pressure is great and the location is pretty good. Very well kept garden outside of the rooms which makes this place into a peaceful paradise. Felt very refreshed after relaxing in the garden for the afternoon, reading my book and enjoying a cuppa. Keep noticing all these other little extras. Have lots of fresh flowers in my room from their garden. The owner Gary who checked us in was friendly and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended, we will definitely come back here!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EisernB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda T, Owner at Avonhead Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Thank you for an awesome review...so pleased you enjoyed our quiet petty Motel.
Hope to host you again soon.
Wishing you a very Merry Christmas.
Amanda and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019 via mobile

We were very pleased we chose this accommodation for our five night stay. The unit was spacious, clean and really comfortable. The hosts were incredibly kind and caring. It is wonderful to think that their guests get to experience good kiwi hosting. Well done Amanda and Gary and once again thank you.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 45SaddleRoadSVenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda T, Manager at Avonhead Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
We are thrilled you enjoyed the Kiwi Experience with us and enjoyed our units.
Look forward to host you again soon.
Wishing you a very Merry Christmas.
Amanda and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

Gary and Amanda are fantastic hosts and really went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and homely.

The beds are comfortable, rooms are warm, internet is fast and available and the units are big enough to make an extended stay comfortable.

The cherry on the cake is ample parking so no need to park on the street.

I would recommend Avonhead Garden Motel with a real 5 star rating.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TrevorSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda T, Owner at Avonhead Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Thank you Trevor

We are so pleased you had everything you needed and very comfortable.
Yes, our units are spacious and warm - thank you for your Five Star recommendation!

Gary and I hope you both have settled in well now.

All the best.

Warm regards,

Amanda and Gary Owner/operator's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews