We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Well Located”
Review of Aalton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aalton Motel
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious and Well Located”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed one night at the Aalton late October 2012. It is well run, not modern but very clean, spacious and well appointed studio units: We thought the separate kitchen and the small courtyard at the back of our unit were really great. It is very well located: The Aalton is on Riccarton Rd with Hegley Park a short stroll "down" Riccarton Rd and beyond that the City Centre (which requires a longer stroll across the beautiful Hegley Park). If you go in the other direction, "up" Riccarton Road, you find the very large Riccarton Mall, with a great variety of shops, supermarkets etc. Plenty of dining and takeaway opportunities nearby too. Our unit was to the rear of the property and we had no problems with traffic noise, and it seemed to us that the other units were generally fine also, though Riccarton Road is busy especially at peak times. Host Iain gives heaps of info in his well-practised welcome speech. The Red Zone is very sad - lots of post-quake demolition still going on, and no re-building yet possible, Christchurch still has much to offer but you may need to book good accommodation early because it seems that many tourist accommodation options are closed off in the Red Zone. Wi-fi Internet is free at The Aalton, and we thought the amount was very limited till we discovered as we toured the South Island over the next month, just what expensive internet really was: What is now increasingly free in most western countries is very expensive in most N Z tourist accommodations in Sth Island.

Room Tip: Studio Units at the rear of the property were quiet and very well set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
47
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent the night here because of situation. We were in a large studio unit down the back of the driveway which was absolutely perfect for us. No traffic noises as motel on a very busy main road. Lots of space and we had our own kitchen and large bathroom. Very clean and tidy. Although it is a bit dated we will definitely be back and have already rebooked for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a great welcome and the owner took us to our lovely room. The room included free WiFi and convenient parking.

We were given advice on where to eat locally by the owner and having taken his advice we had a great Indian meal two doors from the motel (the Arjee Bhajee).

A minor grumble was that the bathroom did not have a heater and so was a bit cold at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Would highly recommend this motel. Iain is very hospitable and our unit was clean and comfortable. Very close to Hagley Park and a beautiful walk to the city. Plenty of food choices nearby. We would choose to stay here again if we revisited Christchurch. Iain, we bought some Glenmorangie to toast your hometown when we got home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Aalton a couple of times so far when working in ChCh and definitely rate this the as the most comfortable and best value at the Hagley Park end of Riccarton Road. The standard studio has a great bed, is cosy & comfy, is kept wonderfully clean and the small kitchenette area is all you need for organising breakfast or a packed lunch. The apartments are all separated and away from the road, so noise from the street or the motel has never been an issue. Having so much of the city and facilities in Riccarton right on the doorstep is just part of the attraction! Little details like a wee bit of free broadband and plunger coffee in the room just goes to show that Ian and Jane do that little bit extra to make the Aalton a welcoming stay.

Room Tip: The small studio is a great option for just a couple of nights stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndEBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Unit was spacious, light and extremely comfortable. Everything was generous - free wifi, bath, plunger coffee, efficient heaters and TV in both lounge and bedroom. Friendly service, great location. Excellent value, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great restaurants and one of the biggest shopping centre in the city within a walking distance. A 24h food store next door.
In mid-winter, even with a heater in a room, I was quite cold at night and had to wait a while for hot water to take a shower.
The facility looks a bit old but the room was very clean and has a cosy bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balto-jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#59 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Roma on Riccarton Motel
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalton Motel

Property: Aalton Motel
Address: 19 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very spacious ground floor units with full cooking facilities, SKY digital television and FREE Wireless Broadband in each room. Comfortable and well appointed in an ideal location. Walking distance to City Centre, Shopping Mall, Restaurants and close to Westpac Arena, Railway Station and AMI stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aalton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalton Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing